FIMAV34 Image Site ang Banner 2019
FIMAV34 Image Site ang Phone 2019

AFRIRAMPO

Back to schedule | Tickets

JAPANafrirampo
CANADIAN PREMIERE

SATURDAY, MAY 19
COLISÉE B
MIDNIGHT- $20 

With the help of 
Logomark B


A collaboration
cism

ONI : guitare électrique, voix
PIKA : batterie, voix


AFRIRAMPO landed on the Japanese experimental rock scene in a flash. Upon the band’s inception in 2002, ONI and PIKA were respectively 18 and 19 years old. Quickly, the guitar/drums duo became the standard-bearer of a young Osaka-based noise scene, mostly due to their incredible energy and bohemian-like presence on stage.

They started releasing albums, the music gradually growing in depth, complexity and melodicism without ever losing its early raw energy. International consecration came in 2005 with the release of the excellent album Kore Ga Mayaku Da on John Zorn’s Tzadik label and an invitation to join Yoko Ono on stage at All Tomorrow’s Parties.

The duo split in 2010 to let its constituents carry their solo careers further. This led to collaborations aplenty, particularly with the entourage of Acid Mothers Temple (PIKA and Makoto Kawabata tour regularly as a duo).

In 2016, AFRIRAMPO announced an unexpected return to live performance. Viva ONI and PIKA, a double-headed tornado that blows everything in its path, a flash of multicoloured craziness.

On the Web:
Afrirampo


STUDENT PRICE FOR MIDNIGHT CONCERTS
($5 off the regular ticket price / individual ticket)
At the door only
Student card and ID card required

FIMAV34 Image Site Banner fr
FIMAV34 Image Site Phone fr

AFRIRAMPO

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

JAPONafrirampo
PREMIÈRE CANADIENNE

SAMEDI, 19 MAI
COLISÉE B
MINUIT - 20 $  

Avec l'aide de
Logomark B

 

Une collaboration
cism

ONI : guitare électrique, voix
PIKA : batterie, voix


AFRIRAMPO est arrivé comme une comète sur la scène du rock expérimental japonais. À sa formation, en 2002, ONI et PIKA étaient âgées respectivement de 18 et 19 ans. Rapidement, le duo guitare-batterie est devenu le porte-étendard d’une jeune scène bruitiste d’Osaka, principalement à cause de son incroyable énergie sur scène, une présence saltimbanquesque.

Les albums se sont multipliés, la musique du groupe s’étoffant, gagnant en complexité et en mélodisme, sans jamais perdre son énergie brute des débuts. La consécration internationale est arrivée en 2005 avec la publication de l’excellent Kore Ga Mayaku Da sur l’étiquette Tzadik de John Zorn, ainsi que par une invitation à jouer avec Yoko Ono au Festival All Tomorrow’s Parties.

Le duo s’est séparé en 2010 pour permettre à ses membres de pousser leurs carrières solos plus loin, favorisant plusieurs collaborations; particulièrement avec l’entourage du groupe Acid Mothers Temple (PIKA et Makoto Kawabata tournent régulièrement en duo).

En 2016, AFRIRAMPO annonçait son retour sur scène à l’ébahissement général. Vive ONI et PIKA : une tornade qui soulève tout sur son passage, un coup de folie multicolore.

Sur le Web :
Afrirampo  


RABAIS ÉTUDIANT - SÉRIE DE MINUIT

(5 $ de rabais / billet individuel)
À la porte seulement
Carte étudiante et d’identité requises