FIMAV33 SiteWeb Ang 2650x550m
FIMAV33 SiteWeb Ang 768x768m

DOUBLE BILL

Back to Schedule | Tickets

Braxton 1

SUNDAY MAY 21
COLISÉE A
10 PM - $ 36

 
ANTHONY BRAXTON SOLO

USA
CANADIAN PREMIERE

Anthony Braxton : saxophones

This concert and RENÉ LUSSIER’s, presented as a double bill, have been specially programmed this year to celebrate the 30th anniversary of FIMAV’s sister record label Les Disques VICTO.

Inviting ANTHONY BRAXTON for this occasion was a given. Legendary sax player, revolutionary composer, genius thinker, and an old friend of the Festival, Mr. BRAXTON is featured on nine VICTO CDs. These range from duo improvised meetings (with Derek Bailey and Fred Frith) to his large ensembles, his classic mid-’80s/mid-’90s quartet, and his ’00s sextet, not to forget his astounding performance with noise band Wolf Eyes. Each of these records still has something to teach us, as the man’s artistic thinking runs uncannily deep.

BRAXTON’s relationship with Les Disques VICTO and FIMAV is so positive that tonight he will be treating us to the unthinkable: a solo set. His last solo recording dates back to 2005. His last live solo performance? In 2012, as far as we can tell. Which goes to show how precious a birthday present this is.

 

On the web...
Anthony Braxton

 

RENÉ LUSSIER QUINTETTE

QUEBEC
WORLD PREMIERE

lussier 1
Luzio Altobelli : accordéon
Julie Houle : tuba
Robbie Kuster : batterie
Marton Maderspach : batterie
René Lussier : guitares, daxophone

It is in order to release the concert presented by RENÉ LUSSIER and Fred Frith at the 4th FIMAV, in October 1986, that Michel Levasseur decided a few months later to start Les Disques VICTO. What better way to celebrate this 30th anniversary than to invite RENÉ to premiere a new project?

LUSSIER in a few words: uncompromising artist, a pillar of Quebec’s Musique Actuelle movement, composer of the avant-classic Le Trésor de la langue, singular guitarist, singer-songwriter at times, and a major composer ever since his membership in Conventum.

LUSSIER is presenting a brand new band for whom he has been composing a specific repertoire. The instrumentation by itself promises something unique: two drummers, an accordion player, a tuba player and RENÉ with his daxophone as a gift! With this ensemble, the guitarist is looking for a “variable geometry of functions” where each part can go to any player. LUSSIER, a percussionist himself, had worked previously with two drummers with the NOW Orchestra, and he seems to be having a heck of a time doing it again in a much smaller setting.

On the web...
Luzio Altobelli
Julie Houle
René Lussier

FIMAV32 SiteWeb 2650x550 v1
banniere fimav 2017 mobile

PROGRAMME DOUBLE

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

Braxton 1

DIMANCHE 21 MAI
COLISÉE A
22 H - 36 $

 
ANTHONY BRAXTON SOLO

ÉTATS-UNIS
PREMIÈRE CANADIENNE

Anthony Braxton : saxophones

Ce concert et celui de RENÉ LUSSIER, présentés en programme double, marquent une occasion toute spéciale : le 30e anniversaire de l’étiquette Les Disques VICTO.

Inviter ANTHONY BRAXTON pour l’occasion, cela allait de soi. Légende du saxophone, compositeur révolutionnaire, penseur de génie et vieil ami du FIMAV, M. BRAXTON a neuf albums au catalogue de l’étiquette. Ceux-ci vont de la rencontre improvisée en duo (avec Derek Bailey ou Fred Frith) à ses grands ensembles, en passant par son quartet classique des années mi-80 à mi-90 et son sextet des années 2000, sans oublier sa stupéfiante collaboration avec le groupe bruitiste Wolf Eyes. Chacun de ces disques a encore quelque chose à nous enseigner aujourd’hui, car la pensée artistique de cet homme est d’une profondeur rarement rencontrée.

Sa relation avec Les Disques VICTO et l’équipe du FIMAV est telle qu’il nous offre ce soir l’impensable... une prestation solo. Son dernier enregistrement solo remonte à 2005. Son dernier concert solo? À 2012, probablement. C’est dire le cadeau d’anniversaire qu’il nous fait.

Sur le web...
Anthony Braxton

 

RENÉ LUSSIER QUINTETTE

QUÉBEC
PREMIÈRE MONDIALE

lussier 1
Luzio Altobelli : accordéon
Julie Houle : tuba
Robbie Kuster : batterie
Marton Maderspach : batterie
René Lussier : guitares, daxophone

C’est pour pouvoir publier le concert de RENÉ LUSSIER et Fred Frith au 4e FIMAV, en octobre 1986, que Michel Levasseur fondait Les Disques VICTO quelques mois plus tard. Pour célébrer ce 30e anniversaire, quoi de mieux que d’inviter RENÉ à présenter son tout nouveau projet?

LUSSIER en quelques mots : artiste sans compromis, pilier de la Musique Actuelle québécoise, auteur du classique Le Trésor de la langue, guitariste singulier, chansonnier à ses heures, compositeur marquant depuis ses débuts dans le groupe Conventum.

LUSSIER propose un tout nouveau groupe pour lequel il a composé un répertoire spécifique. L’instrumentation à elle seule promet tout un programme : deux batteurs, un accordéoniste, une tubiste et RENÉ avec son daxophone en prime! Avec cet ensemble, le guitariste vise une « géométrie variable des fonctions », les interprètes pouvant interchanger leurs partitions. LUSSIER, lui-même à l’aise aux percussions, a déjà travaillé avec deux batteurs dans le cadre du NOW Orchestra. Cette fois, en formation restreinte, il semble s’amuser comme un fou.

Sur le web...
Luzio Altobelli
Julie Houle
René Lussier