FIMAV34 Image Site ang Banner 2019
FIMAV34 Image Site ang Phone 2019

DÁLAVA

                                                                                                                                                                                                              Back to schedule | Tickets


UNITED STATES, CANADA
dalava
QUEBEC PREMIERE

SATURDAY MAY 19
CARRÉ 150
3 PM - $26  

With the help of 
cac


A collaboration
ckrl

Julia Ulehla : voix
Aram Bajakian : guitares, percussion
Peggy Lee : violoncelle
Tyson Naylor : accordéon, claviers
Colin Cowan : basse électrique, contrebasse
Dylan Van Der Schyff : batterie, percussion


Welcome to Moravia, a region of the Czech Republic. JULIA ULEHLA’s great-grandfather, a botanist, considered traditional folk songs to be living organisms. He preserved many of those songs by transcribing them into a book, more than a century ago. The singer is breathing new life into these melodies and laments, investing in them an emotional charge fans of Central Europe music will recognize instantly. And her life and music partner, guitarist ARAM BAJAKIAN, propels these songs into modern times.

For their first eponymous album released in 2014, the pair augmented themselves with a string trio from New York. On that record, they explored the material in a rather traditional fashion and bold arrangements. Then, JULIA and ARAM moved to Vancouver where they recorded the follow-up, The Book of Transfigurations, with local improvisers. Four of them, well known to our audience, accompany the couple on stage.

This second CD, released last year by Songlines, blends strong influences from creative jazz, post-rock and world music to the band’s original sound. Lauded by critics everywhere for its beauty and evocative power, this version of DÁLAVA aims for the heart and strikes every time.

On the Web:
Dálava
YouTube

FIMAV34 Image Site Banner fr 2019
FIMAV34 Image Site Phone fr 2019

DÁLAVA

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie


ÉTATS-UNIS, CANADAdalava
PREMIÈRE QUÉBÉCOISE

SAMEDI 19 MAI 
CARRÉ 150
15 H - 26 $  

Avec l'aide du 
cac



Une collaboration
ckrl

Julia Ulehla : voix
Aram Bajakian : guitares, percussion
Peggy Lee : violoncelle
Tyson Naylor : accordéon, claviers
Colin Cowan : basse électrique, contrebasse
Dylan Van Der Schyff : batterie, percussion


Bienvenue en Moravie, une région de la République tchèque. L’arrière-grand-père de JULIA ULEHLA considérait les chants traditionnels comme des organismes vivants. En botaniste qu’il était, il en a préservé plusieurs en les transcrivant dans un recueil, il y a plus d’une centaine d’années. La chanteuse donne corps à ces airs et à ces complaintes, y investissant une charge émotive que les amateurs de musiques d’Europe centrale reconnaîtront. Et son conjoint, le guitariste ARAM BAJAKIAN, propulse cette musique dans la modernité.

Le couple s’était entouré d’un trio à cordes new-yorkais pour son premier album éponyme, paru en 2014; il y explorait cette matière d’une manière plutôt traditionnelle, avec des arrangements audacieux. Puis, JULIA et ARAM ont déménagé à Vancouver où ils ont enregistré The Book of Transfigurations avec des improvisateurs de là-bas; quatre d’entre eux, bien connus de nos festivaliers, les accompagnent sur scène. 

Ce deuxième disque, paru l’an dernier chez Songlines, intègre au son original du groupe de fortes influences du jazz actuel et du post-rock, en plus des musiques du monde. Saluée par la critique pour sa beauté et sa puissance évocatrice, cette version de DÁLAVA vise le cœur et l’atteint à tout coup. 

Sur le Web :
Dálava
YouTube