FIMAV34 Image Site ang Banner
FIMAV34 Image Site ang Phone

ERWAN KERAVEC SOLO

                                                                                                                                                                                                              Back to schedule | Tickets
 

FRANCEerwankeravec
NORTH AMERICAN PREMIERE


SATURDAY MAY 19
ÉGLISE ST-CHRISTOPHE D'ARTHABASKA
1 PM - $20 

Erwan Keravec : cornemuse


Any bagpipes fans in the house? For the first time in 34 editions, FIMAV presents a solo concert featuring this highly misunderstood,
little-loved instrument that is more often than not heard in unflattering folkloric roles.

ERWAN KERAVEC is reinventing his instrument through an atypical approach. A traditional Breton musician, this piper has managed to shed the clichés in order to explore new fields in contemporary music, free improvisation, and even electronic music. He is collaborating with classically trained singers, working with choreographers, and sparring with top-tier improvisers like MATS GUSTAFFSON, Beñat Achiary and Jean-Luc Cappozzo. Alongside these interests, he remains involved in world music, namely with the striking new trio Revolutionary Birds.

With his first solo CD Urban Pipes in 2007, KERAVEC positioned himself as a visionary performer, willing to push the bagpipes to their ultimate limits. Since then, he has commissioned several works and continued to research new forms of expression while respecting the heritage of his instrument.

On the Web:
Erwan Keravec
SoundCloud

FIMAV34 Image Site Banner fr
FIMAV34 Image Site Phone fr

ERWAN KERAVEC solo

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie


FRANCEerwankeravec
PREMIÈRE NORD-AMÉRICAINE

SAMEDI 19 MAI
ÉGLISE ST-CHRISTOPHE D'ARTHABASKA
13 H - 20 $

Erwan Keravec : cornemuse


Y a-t-il des amateurs de cornemuse dans la salle? Pour la première fois en 34 éditions, le FIMAV programme un concert solo mettant en vedette cet instrument incompris, mal aimé et cantonné, la plupart du temps, à un rôle folklorique peu reluisant.

Cet instrument, ERWAN KERAVEC le réinvente au fil d’un parcours atypique. Musicien traditionnel breton, le sonneur – c’est bien ainsi qu’on dit – est sorti des clichés pour investir le champ des musiques contemporaines, improvisées et même électroniques. Il collabore avec des chanteurs classiques, travaille avec des chorégraphes et s’acoquine avec des improvisateurs de la trempe de MATS GUSTAFFSON, Beñat Achiary et Jean-Luc Cappozzo, le tout sans abandonner complètement les musiques du monde, qu’il explore avec brio dans son récent trio Revolutionary Birds.

Un premier disque solo paru en 2007, Urban Pipes, l’a positionné comme un interprète visionnaire et volontaire, prêt à pousser la cornemuse dans ses derniers retranchements. Depuis, il multiplie les commandes d’œuvres et poursuit son travail visant à rechercher de nouvelles formes d’expression pour son instrument, tout en respectant son héritage.

Sur le Web :
Erwan Keravec
SoundCloud