FIMAV34 Image Site ang Banner 2019
FIMAV34 Image Site ang Phone 2019

PHURPA

Back to schedule | Tickets

RUSSIAphurpa
CANADIAN PREMIERE

SUNDAY MAY 20
CARRÉ 150
8 PM - $32

Alexey Tegin, Daniil Zotov, Dmitry Globa-Mikhaylenko : voix (gyu-ke), tambours (nga), longue trompette (dung-chen), hautbois (rgya-ling), cymbales (bub) et objets


After a career on Moscow’s industrial music scene, ALEXEY TEGIN turned to bön, a pre-Buddhist tradition from Tibet that makes use of a rather crude form of vocalization called gyu-ke, or “tantric voice.” This art of overtone singing, a very low rumbling incantation, is the heart and soul of the unique musical project PHURPA.

TEGIN and the other members of his collective sit on stage clad in black hooded robes, wearing headset microphones and surrounded by minimal instruments: bowls, drums, horns. The sounds they make – heavily amplified – produce undeniable physical impacts, a deep-running vibration, striking at first but inviting to meditation. The music develops slowly, in tableaux, like parts of a ritual out of time. However, this is not a historical re-enactment: TEGIN’s approach is highly personal, original, adapted to the 21st century. The visual presentation is reminiscent of Sunn O))) – Stephen O’Malley actually took a shining to the band, releasing one of their albums.

PHURPA has a few records out, the latest one being a double CD entitled Gyer Ro. But this is a clear case where you simply have to experience them in concert to understand how intense and powerful they are.

On the Web:
SoundCloud

FIMAV34 Image Site Banner fr
FIMAV34 Image Site Phone fr

PHURPA

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

RUSSIEphurpa
PREMIÈRE CANADIENNE

DIMANCHE 20 MAI
CARRÉ 150
20 H - 32 $

Alexey Tegin, Daniil Zotov, Dmitry Globa-Mikhaylenko : voix (gyu-ke), tambours (nga), longue trompette (dung-chen), hautbois (rgya-ling), cymbales (bub) et objets


Après une carrière sur la scène industrielle moscovite, ALEXEY TEGIN s’est tourné vers le bön, une tradition tibétaine prébouddhiste qui utilise une forme assez crue de vocalisation, le gyu-ke, la « voix tantrique ». Ce chant diphonique, une incantation très basse, est le cœur et l’âme de PHURPA, un projet musical unique en son genre.

TEGIN et ses acolytes sont assis sur la scène en toge noire, capuchonnée, micro-casque sur la tête, entourés d’un instrumentarium minimal : bols, tambours, cors. Les sons, amplifiés à outrance, produisent un effet physique indéniable, une vibration profonde qui saisit d’abord, puis appelle au recueillement. La musique se développe lentement, par tableaux, comme les diverses parties d’un rite plus qu’ancestral. Attention, il ne s’agit pas d’une reconstitution historique. L’approche de TEGIN est très personnelle, adaptée au 21e siècle, originale. La présentation visuelle évoque Sunn O))) – Stephen O’Malley a d’ailleurs publié un des albums du groupe.

PHURPA a quelques disques à son actif, dont un tout récent album double intitulé Gyer Ro. Mais nous sommes en présence d’un de ces groupes qu’il faut absolument vivre en concert pour en comprendre toute l’intensité et la puissance de la démarche.

Sur le Web : 
SoundCloud