FIMAV34 Image Site ang Banner 2019
FIMAV34 Image Site ang Phone 2019

ROXA SAXOPHONE QUARTET

« Rova@40 »

Back to schedule | Tickets


UNITED STATESrova


FRIDAY MAY 18
ÉGLISE ST-CHRISTOPHE D'ARTHABASKA
8 PM - $34

Bruce Ackley : saxophone soprano
Steve Adams : saxophones alto et sopranino
Larry Ochs : saxophone ténor
Jon Raskin : saxophone baryton

The ROVA SAXOPHONE QUARTET has earned a very special place in the history of Musique Actuelle. Neither jazz nor rock nor “contemporary classical,” the quartet is actually all of that at the same time. Although this approach is not as unique today as it was in 1978, ROVA pioneered it. And by working together relentlessly, both as improvisers and as composers, its members – the same foursome since 1988! – have developed a phenomenal sense of togetherness in their playing.

ROVA is flying high at 40 years old. In the last few years, the quartet has branched out into historical modern jazz projects (with its Orkestrova) and all sorts of collaborations (among them their “Celestial Septet” with Nels Cline Singers). It has also invested the field of spatialized playing and developed a new quartet repertoire.

Virtuosity, friendship, resistance, constantly renewed relevance: those are the reasons why, in 2018, ROVA will be making its fifth appearance at FIMAV... and why we have decided to make this concert a special presentation in the gorgeous acoustics of the St-Christophe d’Arthabaska church.

On the Web:
Rova Saxophone Quartet
Bandcamp

FIMAV34 Image Site Banner fr
FIMAV34 Image Site Phone fr

ROVA SAXOPHONE QUARTET

« Rova@40 »

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

ÉTATS-UNIS
rova

VENDREDI 18 MAI
ÉGLISE ST-CHRISTOPHE D'ARTHABASKA
20 H - 34 $  

Bruce Ackley : saxophone soprano
Steve Adams : saxophones alto et sopranino
Larry Ochs : saxophone ténor
Jon Raskin : saxophone baryton


Le ROVA SAXOPHONE QUARTET occupe une place privilégiée dans l’histoire de la Musique Actuelle. Ni jazz, ni rock, ni musique contemporaine, il est en fait tout cela en même temps. Si cette approche n’est plus aussi unique en son genre qu’en 1978, ce groupe en a été le pionnier et, à force de travailler ensemble autant comme improvisateurs que comme compositeurs, ses membres – les mêmes depuis 1988! – ont développé un art du jeu de groupe sans pareil.

À 40 ans, ROVA a le vent dans les voiles. Ces dernières années, le quatuor a multiplié les projets d’historiographie du jazz actuel avec son Orkestrova et les collaborations en tout genre (soulignons celle avec le Nels Cline Singers baptisée « The Celestial Septet »), en plus d’explorer le jeu spatialisé et d’élaborer un nouveau répertoire à quatre.

Virtuosité, complicité, résistance, une pertinence constamment renouvelée : voilà qui explique que ROVA en soit, en 2018, à sa cinquième participation au FIMAV... et que nous en fassions une présentation spéciale dans l’acoustique magnifique de l’Église St-Christophe d’Arthabaska.

Sur le Web :
Rova Saxophone Quartet
Bandcamp