FIMAV33 SiteWeb Ang 2650x550m
FIMAV33 SiteWeb Ang 768x768m

DOUBLE bILL

Back to schedule | Tickets

FRIDAY MAY 19
COLISÉE A
10 PM - $ 36

Une collaboration

LOGO CKUT 2016LOGO CHYZ 2015

 
SENYAWA

INDONESIA
CANADIAN PREMIERE

senyawa site
Rully Shabara : voix
Wukir Suryadi : bambuwukir

FIMAV is also a window on the world. In 2017, the Festival welcomes for the first time an act from Indonesia: SENYAWA. The music of this unique duo blends traditional roots, punk attitude, and experimental approach, all paired with a strong tribal feel.

SENYAWA is a collaboration between two highly skilled musicians. Vocalist RULLY SHABARA makes use of various languages spoken in the Indonesian archipelago and a wide range of extended techniques. His prowess brings to mind Keiji Haino and Tanya Tagaq in equal parts. WUKIR SURYADI draws from Indonesia’s traditions to create his own instruments, assemblages of bamboo, strings, and bits of metal. These instruments, used with effects pedals and loopers, give him the palette of a one-man band.

Formed in 2010, SENYAWA has worked with Damo Suzuki, Keiji Haino, and Tatusya Yoshida. The duo has released a handful of albums, their latest studio opus being the remarkable CD Menjadi (Morphine Records, 2015). They also have a split album with Japanese legend Melt-Banana. SENYAWA has performed all around Asia, Australia, and Europe, plus a few stops in the USA. FIMAV is proud to bring them to Canada for the first time.

On the web...
Senyawa

 

EX EYE

USA

ex eye site
Colin Stetson : saxophones
Toby Summerfield : guitare électrique
Greg Fox : batterie
Shahzad Ismaily : synthétiseur
Matt Marinelli : sonorisation

Heavy, virtuoso instrumental rock, an unlikely patchwork of strong – and strongly compatible – musical personalities: EX EYE is one ferocious beast.

Let’s proceed in alphabetical order. GREG FOX (Guardian Angel, Liturgy, Skeletons, Zs), a fire-breathing drummer who gets equal respect from the metal sphere and the free improvisation scene. This is the fourth trip to Victo for maverick multi-instrumentalist SHAHZAD ISMAILY (Secret Chiefs 3, Causing a Tiger, Book of Knots), the last one being in 2015 with Marc Ribot’s Ceramic Dog. COLIN STETSON (collaborations with Arcade Fire and Bon Iver) has redefined extended techniques on the saxophone, and his bass sax playing can bury any doom metal bassist out there. TOBY SUMMERFIELD (Never Enough Hope, Crush Kill Destroy, Bill Brovold’s Larval) is a guitarist with a wide range of interests and noise-dipped skills.

EX EYE played its first live set in June 2016, taking everyone by surprise. Since then, the quartet has been developing its stature, as Montrealers witnessed last October at the Red Bull Music Academy. On FIMAV’s main stage, this band is guaranteed to explode!

On the web...
Colin Stetson
Toby Summerfield
Greg Fox
Shahzad Ismaily

FIMAV32 SiteWeb 2650x550 v1
banniere fimav 2017 mobile

PROGRAMME DOUBLE

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

VENDREDI 19 MAI
COLISÉE A
22 H - 36 $

Une collaboration
LOGO CHYZ 2015   LOGO CKUT 2016

 
SENYAWA

INDONÉSIE
PREMIÈRE CANADIENNE

senyawa site
Rully Shabara : voix
Wukir Suryadi : bambuwukir

Le FIMAV, c’est aussi l’ouverture sur le monde. En 2017, le Festival accueille son premier groupe en provenance de l’Indonésie, un duo unique en son genre. La musique de SENYAWA conjugue racines traditionnelles, attitude punk et approche expérimentale. Soulignons aussi l’ambiance tribale.

SENYAWA réunit deux musiciens de grand talent. Le vocaliste RULLY SHABARA utilise diverses langues de l’Archipel indonésien et de nombreuses techniques étendues. Il évoque autant Keiji Haino que Tanya Tagaq. Son comparse WUKIR SURYADI s’inspire de la lutherie indonésienne traditionnelle pour fabriquer ses propres instruments. Assemblages de bambou, de cordes et de pièces métalliques, ces instruments (complétés par des effets et des boucles) lui permettent de jouer le rôle d’homme-orchestre.

Fondé en 2010, le duo a collaboré avec Damo Suzuki, Keiji Haino et Tatsuya Yoshida. Il a quelques albums à son actif, le dernier opus studio étant l’excellent Menjadi (Morphine Records, 2015), ainsi qu’un album partagé avec le légendaire groupe Melt-Banana. SENYAWA s’est produit partout en Asie, en Australie et en Europe, en plus de faire quelques sauts aux États-Unis. Le FIMAV est fier de lui ouvrir les portes du Canada.

Sur le web...
Senyawa

 

EX EYE

ÉTATS-UNIS

ex eye site
Colin Stetson : saxophones
Toby Summerfield : guitare électrique
Greg Fox : batterie
Shahzad Ismaily : synthétiseur
Radwan Moumneh : sonorisation

Rock instrumental pesant et virtuose, réunion de personnalités hétéroclites qui s’avèrent hautement compatibles, EX EYE est une chimère particulièrement féroce.

Allons-y par ordre alphabétique : GREG FOX (Guardian Angel, Liturgy, Skeletons, Zs), batteur de feu respecté autant dans le monde du métal que dans le milieu des musiques improvisées. SHAHZAD ISMAILY (Secret Chiefs 3, Causing a Tiger, Book of Knots), multi-instrumentiste imprévisible dont le dernier passage au FIMAV est tout récent : 2015 avec le Ceramic Dog de Marc Ribot. COLIN STETSON (collaborateur d’Arcade Fire et de Bon Iver), saxophoniste aux techniques révolutionnaires, dont le saxo basse n’a rien à envier aux bassistes de doom métal. Enfin, TOBY SUMMERFIELD (Never Enough Hope, Crush Kill Destroy, Bill Brovold’s Larval), guitariste aux intérêts plus que multiples et à l’indéniable talent bruitiste.

EX EYE a fait ses premiers pas sur scène en juin 2016, à la surprise générale. Depuis, le quatuor gagne en stature, comme l’ont constaté les Montréalais en octobre dernier, dans le cadre de l’événement Red Bull Music Academy. Sur la grande scène du Colisée, ce sera de la dynamite!

Sur le web...
Colin Stetson
Toby Summerfield
Greg Fox
Shahzad Ismaily