FIMAV33 SiteWeb Ang 2650x550m
FIMAV33 SiteWeb Ang 768x768m

THE NELS CLINE FOUR

Back to Schedule | Tickets

nels cline four 2USA
CANADIAN PREMIERE

SUNDAY MAY 21
CARRÉ 150
8 PM - $ 30
 

Nels Cline : guitares
Julian Lage : guitares
Scott Colley : contrebasse
Tom Rainey : batterie

For his fifth visit on Victoriavillian soil, NELS CLINE – 40-year career, Wilco member, proven guitar hero, FIMAV audience favourite – will present a project so brand new it is still wet behind the ears: THE NELS CLINE FOUR.

In a sense, this quartet is an outgrowth of the duo CLINE and JULIAN LAGE have been maintaining for four years (don’t miss their gorgeous 2014 release Room), except that here CLINE handles all composition and music direction duties. The leader describes the project as a jazz band that integrates improvisation and structured material, drawing strong inspiration from the music of Jim Hall and Jimmy Giuffre, among others. As these lines are written, the quartet has yet to record and performed live only once.

NELS CLINE is accompanied in this project by guitarist JULIAN LAGE, back at FIMAV after a remarkable performance last year as part of John Zorn’s Bagatelles event, bassist SCOTT COLLEY (who can write “Jim Hall sideman” in bold on his resume), and seasoned drummer TOM RAINEY.

On the web...

Nels Cline
Julian Lage
Scott Colley

FIMAV32 SiteWeb 2650x550 v1
banniere fimav 2017 mobile

THE NELS CLINE FOUR

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

nels cline four 2ÉTATS-UNIS
PREMIÈRE CANADIENNE

DIMANCHE 21 MAI
CARRÉ 150
20 H - 30 $ 

Nels Cline : guitares
Julian Lage : guitares
Scott Colley : contrebasse
Tom Rainey : batterie


Pour son cinquième passage en sol victoriavillois, NELS CLINE – 40 ans de carrière, membre de Wilco, guitar hero avéré et chouchou du public du FIMAV – propose un projet tout nouveau, tout beau : THE NELS CLINE FOUR.

En quelque sorte, ce quartet est une excroissance du duo qu’entretiennent CLINE et JULIAN LAGE depuis quatre ans et qui nous a donné le splendide album Room en 2014, à la différence que CLINE assume ici l’entière responsabilité de la composition et de la direction musicale. Celui-ci le décrit comme un groupe de jazz intégrant de l’improvisation et du matériel structuré, fortement inspiré par les musiques de Jim Hall et de Jimmy Giuffre, entre autres. Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, le groupe n’a pas encore endisqué et il ne s’est produit en concert qu’une seule fois.

NELS CLINE sera accompagné du guitariste JULIAN LAGE, de retour au FIMAV après une apparition remarquée l’an dernier dans le cadre de l’événement Bagatelles de John Zorn, du contrebassiste SCOTT COLLEY (qui a accompagné Jim Hall au cours de sa carrière) et du batteur chevronné TOM RAINEY.

Sur le web...

Nels Cline
Julian Lage
Scott Colley