FIMAV39 temporaire 2650x550webEN
FIMAV39 temporaire 768x768webEN

COLIN STETSON / MATS GUSTAFSSON

USA, SWEDEN
QUEBEC PREMIERE

SUNDAY MAY 22    
CARRÉ 150
8 PM - $ 36

A collaboration
P.5 9 Logo Le Devoir 2020


Colin Stetson : saxophones basse et alto
Mats Gustafsson : saxophone baryton, flûte, électroniques

Two giants of the saxophone will be sharing the stage, combining their diametrically opposed yet fully complementary approaches.

COLIN STETSON has developed a highly original technique on bass saxophone where he subvocalizes while playing his instrument (his voice being amplified by a transducer). In solo settings, he favours long, multiphonic, loop-like notes that weave incredible ambiences. With other musicians, he can turn feverish and hard-hitting, as our audience heard in 2017 with the performance of his band Ex Eye.

In this 21st century, MATS GUSTAFSSON’s name has become almost synonymous with Fire Music, a form of high-octane free jazz. It is no surprise that his first appearance in Victoriaville was in a Peter Brötzmann-led project. Or that we brought him back regularly since, including for two concerts in 2018.

STETSON and GUSTAFSSON played as a duo for the first time in Vancouver in 2011, a performance chronicled on their sole album, 2012’s Stones. They’ve locked horns a handful of times since, moving deeper into their musical relationship each time. Where does that relationship stand 11 years later? You’ll have to be there to find out.

On the Web
matsgus.com

FIMAV38 Site Web 2650x550 web
FIMAV38 Site Web 768x768 web

COLIN STETSON / MATS GUSTAFSSON

web stetson gustaffson 2022

ÉTATS-UNIS, SUÈDE
PREMIÈRE QUÉBÉCOISE

DIMANCHE 22 MAI    
CARRÉ 150
20 H - 36 $

Une collaboration
P.5 9 Logo Le Devoir 2020



Colin Stetson : saxophones basse et alto
Mats Gustafsson : saxophone baryton, flûte, électroniques

Deux géants du saxophone partageront la scène, combinant leurs approches diamétralement opposées, mais ô combien complémentaires!

COLIN STETSON a développé une technique hautement originale au saxophone basse qui lui permet d’ajouter sa voix (captée par un transducteur) à son instrument. En solo, il privilégie les notes longues et la multiphonie pour tisser des ambiances inouïes qui rappellent une mise en boucles. En groupe, il peut s’avérer fiévreux et musclé, comme nos festivaliers l’ont constaté en 2017, avec la prestation de son ensemble Ex Eye.

En ce 21e siècle, le nom de MATS GUSTAFSSON est devenu presque synonyme de Fire Music, ce jazz libre à teneur élevée en testostérone. Ce n’est pas pour rien qu’il est passé jouer à Victoriaville la première fois dans un ensemble de Peter Brötzmann. Et qu’il est revenu régulièrement depuis, jusqu’en 2018 pour deux concerts.

STETSON et GUSTAFSSON ont joué en duo pour la première fois à Vancouver en 2011, un événement documenté sur leur seul album Stones (2012). Depuis, ils se sont croisés sur scène à quelques reprises, approfondissant chaque fois leur relation musicale. Où en sont-ils onze ans plus tard? Faudra y être pour le découvrir.

Sur le Web
matsgus.com