PS FIMAV36 Web 2650x550 v2 EN
PS FIMAV36 Web 768x768 v2 EN

DOUBLE BILL

Back to schedule | Tickets

SATURDAY MAY 16     
COLISÉE A
22 H - 44 $ 

COLIN STETSON

Stetson Gustafsson

USA
CANADIAN PREMIERE

Colin Stetson : saxophones basse et alto
Mats Gustafsson : saxophone baryton, flûte, électroniques

Two giants of the saxophone will be sharing the stage, combining their diametrically opposed yet fully complementary approaches.

COLIN STETSON has developed a highly original technique on bass saxophone where he subvocalizes while playing his instrument (his voice being amplified by a transducer). In solo settings, he favours long, multiphonic, loop-like notes that weave incredible ambiences. With other musicians, he can turn feverish and hard-hitting, as our audience heard in 2017 with the performance of his band Ex Eye.

In this 21st century, MATS GUSTAFSSON’s name has become almost synonymous with Fire Music, a form of high-octane free jazz. It is no surprise that his first appearance in Victoriaville was in a Peter Brötzmann-led project. Or that we brought him back regularly since, including for two concerts in 2018.

STETSON and GUSTAFSSON have been playing on and off as a duo for a few years. They even released a record together: Stones, in 2012, on Rune Grammofon. This concert will let us see how much their musical relationship has matured since then.

On the Web


...


75 DOLLAR BILL BIG BAND

75DOLLARBILL by Alex Phillipe Cohen

USA
CANADIAN PREMIERE

Rick Brown : percussion, instruments à vent inventés
Che Chen : guitare électrique, violon, saxophone soprano, percussion
Sue Garner : guitare et basse électriques, percussion
Cheryl Kingan : saxophones baryton et alto, flûte, percussion
Talice Lee : violon, percussion
Karen Waltuch : alto, percussion
Andrew Lafkas : contrebasse, percussion
Barry Weisblat : percussion, électroniques

RICK BROWN and CHE CHEN formed 75 DOLLAR BILL in 2012. BROWN is an old hand who has played in Run On, Fish and Roses and Les Batteries, among many other bands. CHEN is a young guitarist from New York. At first, the duo focused on collaging improvisations in the studio, but they soon developed a bewitching stage presence around BROWN’s cyclical rhythms (he often limits himself to a wooden box) and CHEN’s guitar playing, heavily informed by Mauritanian psychedelic rock.

After a few cassettes, the group released their official debut album in 2015, followed a year later by the critically lauded Wood/Metal/Plastic/Pattern/Rhythm/Rock. Last summer came out the ambitious double album I Was Real, which was included in several year-end lists. That album, unlike the previous ones, includes several guest performers.

here came the idea of a Big Band version of the group to add strings, brass, bass and electronics to the duo’s stripped-down instrumentation. The group’s repertoire will be gaining in scope without losing any of its hypnotic qualities.

On the web
75 Dollar Bill (Bandcamp)

FIMAV37 Web 2650x550 FR
FIMAV37 Web 768x768 FR

PROGRAMME DOUBLE

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

SAMEDI 16 MAI    
COLISÉE A
22 H - 44 $ 

COLIN STETSON / MATS GUSTAFSSON

Stetson Gustafsson

ÉTATS-UNIS, SUÈDE
PREMIÈRE QUÉBÉCOISE

Colin Stetson : saxophones basse et alto
Mats Gustafsson : saxophone baryton, flûte, électroniques

Deux géants du saxophone partageront la scène, combinant leurs approches diamétralement opposées, mais ô combien complémentaires!

COLIN STETSON a développé une technique hautement originale au saxophone basse qui lui permet d’ajouter sa voix (captée par un transducteur) à son instrument. En solo, il privilégie les notes longues et la multiphonie pour tisser des ambiances inouïes qui rappellent une mise en boucles. En groupe, il peut s’avérer fiévreux et musclé, comme nos festivaliers l’ont constaté en 2017, avec la prestation de son ensemble Ex Eye.

En ce 21e siècle, le nom de MATS GUSTAFSSON est devenu presque synonyme de Fire Music, ce jazz libre à teneur élevée en testostérone. Ce n’est pas pour rien qu’il est passé jouer à Victoriaville la première fois dans un ensemble de Peter Brötzmann. Et qu’il est revenu régulièrement depuis, jusqu’en 2018 pour deux concerts.

STETSON et GUSTAFSSON se croisent sur scène occasionnellement depuis quelques années. Ils ont même publié un disque en duo, Stones, chez Rune Grammofon en 2012. Ce concert permettra de constater l’approfondissement de leur relation musicale.

Sur le Web

...


75 DOLLAR BILL BIG BAND

75DOLLARBILL by Alex Phillipe Cohen

ÉTATS-UNIS
PREMIÈRE CANADIENNE

Rick Brown : percussion, instruments à vent inventés
Che Chen : guitare électrique, violon, saxophone soprano, percussion
Sue Garner : guitare et basse électriques, percussion
Cheryl Kingan : saxophones baryton et alto, flûte, percussion
Talice Lee : violon, percussion
Karen Waltuch : alto, percussion
Andrew Lafkas : contrebasse, percussion
Barry Weisblat : percussion, électroniques

75 DOLLAR BILL est un projet démarré en 2012 par RICK BROWN, un vieux de la vieille qui a joué, entre autres, dans Run On, Fish and Roses et Les Batteries, et CHE CHEN, un jeune guitariste de New York. D’abord axé sur le collage d’improvisations en studio, le duo a développé une présence scénique envoûtante fondée sur les rythmes cycliques de BROWN (qui se limite souvent à une boîte en bois) et le jeu de guitare de CHEN, fortement inspiré du rock psychédélique mauritanien.

Ce groupe, après quelques cassettes, a publié un premier album officiel en 2015, suivi, l’année suivante, de Wood/Metal/Plastic/Pattern/Rhythm/Rock, salué par la critique. L’été dernier est paru I Was Real, un disque double ambitieux qui s’est retrouvé sur plusieurs listes des meilleurs albums de l’année. Il a aussi la particularité de mettre en vedette plusieurs invités.

De là est née l’idée d’une version Big Band du groupe, question d’ajouter cordes, cuivres, basse et électroniques à l’instrumentation. Les compositions du duo prendront de l’ampleur sans rien perdre de leur qualité hypnotique.

Sur le Web
75 Dollar Bill (Bandcamp)