FIMAV38 Site Web 2650x550 webEN
FIMAV38 Site Web 768x768 webEN

FIRE MUSIC

« The Story of Free Jazz »
Fire Music

USA
QUEBEC PREMIERE

SUNDAY MAY 22
CARRÉ 150
5 PM - $ 15

Why did FIMAV program a feature film in a concert slot? Because it brilliantly highlights one of the foundational axes of our artistic direction: free jazz. And because it has never been shown in a Quebec theatre. And because it’s a must-see documentary.

FIRE MUSIC is an 88-minute film directed by TOM SURGAL (drummer with White Out, Thurston Moore, and more). It goes through the origins of the free jazz movement, its pioneers (Ornette Coleman, Cecil Taylor, Sun Ra, Albert Ayler, John Coltrane), the co-op ideals that carried it and its later developments in Europe, up to and including the emergence of free improvisation in Germany, Holland and the UK.

Through fantastic archival documents, the thoughts of music critic Gary Giddins and fresh interviews with several participants of the scene, FIRE MUSIC tells a part of the history of jazz and music that many decried then or minimize today, but that FIMAV has been celebrating since its early days.

Don’t miss this opportunity to see this documentary on the big screen!

On the Web

FIMAV38 Site Web 2650x550 web
FIMAV38 Site Web 768x768 web

FIRE MUSIC

« The Story of Free Jazz »
Fire Music

ÉTATS-UNIS
PREMIÈRE QUÉBÉCOISE

DIMANCHE 22 MAI
CARRÉ 150
17 H - 15 $

Pourquoi présenter un film dans une case horaire de concert du FIMAV? Parce qu’il présente avec brio l’un des axes fondateurs de notre direction artistique : le free jazz. Parce qu’il n’a jamais été présenté en salle au Québec. Et parce qu’il faut le voir.

Réalisé par TOM SURGAL (batteur avec White Out et Thurston Moore, entre autres), ce long-métrage de 88 minutes s’intéresse aux origines du mouvement, à ses pionniers (Ornette Coleman, Cecil Taylor, Sun Ra, Albert Ayler, John Coltrane), à l’idéal coopératif qui l’a porté et aux développements de l’esthétique en Europe, jusqu’à l’émergence de l’improvisation libre britannique, hollandaise et allemande.

À travers de fabuleux documents d’archives, les réflexions du critique Gary Giddins et de nouvelles entrevues avec de nombreux participants de cette scène, FIRE MUSIC raconte un pan de l’histoire du jazz et de la musique que beaucoup ont décrié alors et minimisent aujourd’hui, mais que le FIMAV célèbre depuis ses tout débuts.

Ne manquez pas cette chance unique de vivre ce documentaire en salle!

(Version originale anglaise, sans sous-titre.)

Sur le Web
firemusic.org