FIMAV39 temporaire 2650x550webEN
FIMAV39 temporaire 768x768webEN

GORDON GRDINA

« The Marrow & Square Peg »
Le Choeur de Growlers

CANADA, USA, IRAN, GERMANY
WORLD PREMIERE

SUNDAY MAY 22
COLISÉE A
10 pm - $ 40

Mark Helias : contrebasse
Hank Roberts : violoncelle
Hamin Honari : percussion
Mat Maneri : alto
Shahzad Ismaily : basse électrique, synthétiseur
Christian Lillinger : batterie
Gordon Grdina : oud, guitare électrique

The Vancouver-based guitar and oud player GORDON GRDINA is unstoppable, spreading his talents over countless projects that run the gamut between improvised music, avant-jazz, and Arab music. The pandemic even saw him churn out solo records! Back in 2014, he wooed our audience with his large ensemble Haram.

This year, GRDINA will be presenting not one but TWO quartets. « Square Peg », his latest project, sees him surrounded by a fantastic group of improvisers performing a punchy repertoire. GRDINA plays mostly guitar here, alongside drummer CHRISTIAN LILLINGER, the ubiquitous SHAHZAD ISMAILY on bass and synth, and, appearing for the first time at FIMAV, the inimitable viola player MAT MANERI.

In « The Marrow », GRDINA plays the oud, an Arab lute, and his compositions are influenced by traditional Arab and Persian music. His acolytes are veteran doublebass player MARK HELIAS (BassDrumBone), cellist HANK ROBERTS (Bill Frisell Quartet), and HAMIN HONARI, an Iranian percussion virtuoso.

There will be one set by each band, then GRDINA will bring all seven musicians together for an unforgettable never-heard-before finale.

On the Web

FIMAV39 temporaire 2650x550webFR
FIMAV39 temporaire 768x768webFR

GORDON GRDINA

« The Marrow & Square Peg »
Le Choeur de Growlers

CANADA, ÉTATS-UNIS, IRAN, ALLEMAGNE
PREMIÈRE MONDIALE

DIMANCHE 22 MAI
COLISÉE A
22 H - 40 $

Mark Helias : contrebasse
Hank Roberts : violoncelle
Hamin Honari : percussion
Mat Maneri : alto
Shahzad Ismaily : basse électrique, synthétiseur
Christian Lillinger : batterie
Gordon Grdina : oud, guitare électrique

Le guitariste et joueur d’oud vancouvérois GORDON GRDINA ne tient pas en place. Il multiplie constamment les projets entre musique improvisée, jazz actuel et musiques arabes. La pandémie l’a même vu se tourner vers le solo! En 2014, il avait ravi notre public avec son grand ensemble Haram.

Cette année, il ne nous propose pas un, mais DEUX quatuors. « Square Peg », le plus récent, réunit sur scène une fantastique brochette d’improvisateurs autour de compositions incisives. GRDINA y est surtout à la guitare, entouré du batteur CHRISTIAN LILLINGER, de l’ubiquiste SHAHZAD ISMAILY à la basse et au synthé, et de l’inimitable altiste MAT MANERI qui visitera enfin notre Festival.

Dans « The Marrow », GRDINA joue de l’oud, un luth arabe, et les compositions sont d’influence arabe et persane. Ses acolytes sont le contrebassiste vétéran MARK HELIAS (BassDrumBone), le violoncelliste HANK ROBERTS (Bill Frisell Quartet) et HAMIN HONARI, spécialiste des percussions iraniennes.

Chaque ensemble se produira séparément, puis les sept musiciens se regrouperont pour une finale inédite et inoubliable.

Sur le Web