PS FIMAV36 Web 2650x550 v2 EN
PS FIMAV36 Web 768x768 v2 EN

jeff rEilLy

« To Dream of Silence »

Back to schedule | Tickets

Photo Jeff Riley 4 c Geoffrey CreightonCANADA
QUEBEC PREMIERE

SUNDAY MAY 17
COLISÉE B
5 PM - $26

Peter-Anthony Togni : orgue, narration
Christoph Both : violoncelle
Jeff Reilly : clarinette basse, électroniques

JEFF REILLY is a bass clarinet player, conductor and producer for the CBC radio. Involved both in contemporary classical and in avant-garde jazz, he has recorded for the ECM label and he is a member and the conductor of the Upstream Orchestra, directed by Lukas Pearce since its founder Paul Cram passed away. He lives in Halifax.

« To Dream of Silence » is an ambitious project: a suite based on a series of powerful dreams the artist had, and telling of a transformative personal journey. The concept is masterly carried by sparse, efficient narration, evocative writing that leaves room for free improvisation, and arrangements that call for two orchestras and sound sculptures. The result, released on CD in 2017, is truly beautiful.

Since then, REILLY has taken a “pocket” version of the project on the road with the help of his SANCTUARY TRIO, a group that has been active for over twenty years. The SANCTUARY TRIO boasts an unusual instrumentation: bass clarinet, cello, and organ. The orchestral parts will be integrated as tape parts.

On the Web
Jeff Reilly

PS FIMAV36 Web 2650x550 v2 FR
PS FIMAV36 Web 768x768 v2 FR

JEFF REILLY

« To Dream of Silence »

 Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

Photo Jeff Riley 4 c Geoffrey Creighton

CANADA
PREMIÈRE QUÉBÉCOISE

DIMANCHE 17 MAI
COLISÉE B
17 H - 26 $

Peter-Anthony Togni : orgue, narration
Christoph Both : violoncelle
Jeff Reilly : clarinette basse, électroniques

JEFF REILLY est clarinettiste basse, chef d’orchestre et réalisateur pour la radio de la CBC. À cheval entre la musique contemporaine et le jazz, il a enregistré pour l’étiquette ECM et il est aussi membre et chef d’orchestre de l’ensemble Upstream Orchestra, dirigé par Lukas Pearce depuis le décès de son fondateur Paul Cram. Il vit à Halifax.

« To Dream of Silence » est un projet d’envergure : une suite basée sur une série de rêves marquants de l’artiste, et qui raconte un cheminement de transformation personnelle. Ce concept s’appuie sur une narration économe mais efficace, une écriture évocatrice qui laisse place à l’improvisation libre et des arrangements qui font appel à deux orchestres et à des sculptures sonores. Le résultat, paru sur disque en 2017, est ravissant.

Depuis, REILLY a monté une version portative de ce projet portée par son SANCTUARY TRIO, un ensemble actif depuis plus de vingt ans et dont l’instrumentation est assez inusitée : clarinette basse, violoncelle et orgue. Les parties orchestrales seront représentées sur bande.

Sur le Web
Jeff Reilly