FIMAV39 temporaire 2650x550webEN
FIMAV39 temporaire 768x768webEN

KOICHI MAKIGAMI SOLO

Fatima MirandaJAPAN
QUEBEC PREMIERE

SATURDAY MAY 21   
ÉGLISE ST-CHRISTOPHE D'ARTHABASKA
1 PM - $ 28
 

Koichi Makigami : voix, shakuhachi, guimbarde

At 66, the Japanese singer KOICHI MAKIGAMI doesn’t seem ready to slow down, and that’s all for the better! Although the pandemic obviously limited his live performances lately, he is still running multiple projects, and his avant-rock band Hikashu just released a new album, La La What, at the very beginning of 2022.

After beginnings in experimental musical theatre groups, MAKIGAMI reached quasi-stardom status in Japan with Hikashu, which was formed in 1978. Four years later he released his solo debut, Minzoku no saiten. Later came a series of adventures in New York City where he established himself as a fierce improviser, notably within John Zorn’s circle. This will be his fourth appearance on our stages, following concerts with Five Men Singing, Tokyo Taiga, and Hikashu.

MAKIGAMI is renowned worldwide for his unique voice, his confounding extended techniques and his contagious sense of humor. To hear him vocalize, especially in free improvisation mode, is to embark on a singular journey beyond the glottis!

On the Web

FIMAV39 temporaire 2650x550webFR
FIMAV39 temporaire 768x768webFR

KOICHI MAKIGAMI SOLO

Fatima MirandaJAPON
PREMIÈRE QUÉBÉCOISE

SAMEDI 21 MAI   
ÉGLISE ST-CHRISTOPHE D'ARTHABASKA
13 H - 28 $
 

Koichi Makigami : voix, shakuhachi, guimbarde

À 66 ans, le chanteur japonais KOICHI MAKIGAMI ne semble pas près de ralentir la cadence, et c’est tant mieux! Si la pandémie a nécessairement limité ses apparitions sur scène, il continue de multiplier les projets et son groupe avant-rock Hikashu a publié un nouvel album, La La What, au tout début de l’année.

Après avoir fait ses classes dans des troupes de théâtre musical expérimental, il a atteint quasiment le statut de vedette populaire au Japon au sein de Hikashu, dont les aventures ont commencé en 1978. Quatre ans plus tard, il présentait son premier album solo, Minzoku no saiten. Vint ensuite une série d’aventures à New York, où il s’est établi comme un improvisateur redoutable, notamment dans l’entourage de John Zorn. Il en sera à son quatrième passage sur nos scènes, après les projets Five Men Singing, Tokyo Taiga et Hikashu.

MAKIGAMI est reconnu mondialement pour sa voix unique en son genre, ses techniques étendues déroutantes et son sens de l’humour contagieux. L’entendre vocaliser, particulièrement en mode improvisation, c’est partir en voyage, un voyage singulier au-delà de la glotte!

Sur le Web