BanniereTemporaire2020 2650x550EN
BanniereTemporaire2020 768x768EN

PHILIPPE LAUZIER / ÉRIC NORMAND

« Not the Music »

Back to schedule | Tickets

Lauzier Normand Credit Mathieu Gosselin

QUEBEC


SATURDAY MAY 18
COLISÉE B
5 PM - $22

Philippe Lauzier : clarinette basse, électroniques
Éric Normand : basses électriques, caisse claire


They both enjoy splendid careers in avant-garde music. In their duo « Not the Music », they dive head first into rough, deliberately limited matter, which they transform into some kind of abrasive ambient music. Expect the unexpected.

From Montreal, clarinetist PHILIPPE LAUZIER (Sainct Laurens, Quartetski) has travelled the world and released several albums in Quebec and Europe. At last year’s FIMAV, he presented a memorable sound art installation with Frédérique Laliberté as Motel Hélène. From Rimouski, ÉRIC NORMAND plays bass, writes songs, organizes concerts, and builds home-made pedals. He has performed several times at FIMAV, mostly at the head of GGRIL, an exceptional improvisers’ ensemble.

« Not the Music » have been active for a few years already, with tours in Canada, Europe, and Australia. Their debut album, Do, came out in 2015 on Tour de bras, and they just released a second one, this time on Ambiances Magnétiques, documenting a meeting with saxophone legend JOHN BUTCHER.

On the Web
Philippe Lauzier
Éric Normand

BanniereTemporaire2020 2650x550FR
BanniereTemporaire2020 768x768FR

PHILIPPE LAUZIER / ÉRIC NORMAND 

« Not the Music»

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

Lauzier Normand Credit Mathieu Gosselin

QUÉBEC


SAMEDI 18 MAI    
COLISÉE B
17 H - 22 $

Philippe Lauzier : clarinette basse, électroniques
Éric Normand : basses électriques, caisse claire

Ils mènent tous deux une splendide carrière à la fine pointe des musiques de recherche. Et, dans leur duo « Not the Music », ils plongent tête première dans une matière rêche, volontairement restreinte, qu’ils transforment en une sorte de musique abrasive ambiante. Étonnement garanti.

De Montréal, le clarinettiste PHILIPPE LAUZIER (Sainct Laurens, Quartetski) a parcouru le monde et publié plusieurs disques au Québec et en Europe. L’an dernier, il présentait au FIMAV une installation sonore mémorable avec Frédérique Laliberté sous le nom de Motel Hélène. De Rimouski, ÉRIC NORMAND est bassiste, auteur-compositeur-interprète, organisateur et « patenteux » à ses heures. Il est venu plusieurs fois au FIMAV, surtout à la tête du GGRIL, un ensemble d’improvisation d’exception.

« Not the Music » existe depuis quelques années déjà. Le duo s’est produit au Canada, en Europe et en Australie. Il a publié un premier disque, Do, chez Tour de bras en 2015 et vient tout juste d’en lancer un second, chez Ambiances Magnétiques cette fois, qui documente une rencontre avec le grand saxophoniste JOHN BUTCHER.

Sur le Web
Philippe Lauzier
Éric Normand