PS FIMAV36 Web 2650x550 v2 EN
PS FIMAV36 Web 768x768 v2 EN

pikacyu / makoto kawabata

Back to schedule | Tickets

Pika Makoto2JAPAN
NORTH AMERICAN PREMIERE

SUNDAY MAY 17
CARRÉ 150
8 PM - $34  

A collaboration
petit logo

Pika : batterie, voix
Makoto Kawabata : guitare électrique, électroniques, voix

In 2005, Afrirampo and Acid Mothers Temple, two major groups of the Japanese experimental music scene, brought their strengths and their members together to form Acid Mothers Afrirampo. These bands had shared bills many times before, but this fusion still came as a surprise, in the best way.

Out of this short-lived project came a collaboration between Afrirampo singer/drummer PIKA and AMT’s guitar guru MAKOTO KAWABATA. The duo started releasing limited-edition live recordings in 2009, and recorded two spectacular studio albums: OM Sweet Home (2011) and Galaxilympics (2017).

Together, PIKA and MAKOTO are exploring a true middle ground between their main bands: punk and psychedelic, upbeat and lysergic, hard-hitting and transcendent. This is yin and yang in all their glory, with virtuosity aplenty and palpable fun at playing together. Yes, these two are used to spreading themselves around collaborations to shake things up, but their duo is more than that : it is a bona fide band. And they’re on fire!

On the Web
Pikacyu
Makoto Kawabata

FIMAV37 Web 2650x550 FR
FIMAV37 Web 768x768 FR

PIKACYU / MAKOTO KAWABATA

 Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

Pika Makoto2JAPON
PREMIÈRE NORD-AMÉRICAINE

DIMANCHE 17 MAI   
CARRÉ 150
20 H - 34  $  

Une collaboration
petit logo


Pika : batterie, voix
Makoto Kawabata : guitare électrique, électroniques, voix

En 2005, deux grands groupes de la mouvance musicale japonaise, Afrirampo et Acid Mothers Temple, unissaient leurs forces et leurs membres pour former Acid Mothers Afrirampo. Les deux ensembles avaient partagé la scène à plusieurs reprises, mais cette fusion en avait tout de même étonné plus d’un, dans le meilleur sens du terme!

De cette expérience de courte durée est née une collaboration entre la chanteuse-batteuse d’Afrirampo, PIKA, et le guitariste gourou d’AMT, MAKOTO KAWABATA. Le duo a commencé à publier des enregistrements de concerts en édition limitée en 2009, ainsi que deux albums studio de haute voltige : OM Sweet Home (2011) et Galaxilympics (2017).

Ensemble, PIKA et MAKOTO explorent une voie réellement mitoyenne entre leurs deux groupes principaux : punk et psychédélique, bondissant et lysergique, percutant et transcendant. C’est le yin et le yang dans toute leur gloire. La virtuosité et le plaisir de jouer ensemble sont manifestes. Oui, ces deux musiciens sont passés maîtres dans l’art de multiplier les collaborations pour mêler les cartes, mais leur duo va plus loin : c’est un groupe en bonne et due forme. Et en feu!

Sur le Web
Pikacyu
Makoto Kawabata