FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 EN 72dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 EN 72dpi.1

DOUBLE BILL

Back to schedule | Tickets

SUNDAY MAY 19
COLISÉE A
10 PM - $40


SENYAWA / kEIJI HAINO

montage senyawa Haino WebINDONESIA, JAPAN
NORTH AMERICAN PREMIERE


A collaboration

chyz


Rully Shabara : voix
Wukir Suryadi : bambuwukir
Keiji Haino : guitare électrique, électroniques, polygonola, percussion

SENYAWA tore the roof off the Colisée Desjardins at the 2017 FIMAV. The Indonesian duo struck many audience members straight to the plexus: their original sound, RULLY SHABARA’s vocal prowess, WUKIR SURYADI’s mastery of his home-made instrument are all stunning.

Since, the band has enjoyed tremendous exposure, with profiles in major avant-garde music magazines and the release of a new album, Sujud, on the high-profile Sublime Frequencies label, making it the first SENYAWA record with worldwide distribution.

When we asked RULLY and WUKIR with whom they would like to collaborate for their next appearance in Victoriaville, the name crowning their list was KEIJI HAINO. A conclusive first experience had taken place in 2016, at Berlin’s CTM Festival, in a quartet with guitarist Kazuhisa Uchihashi. And HAINO is obviously a master in the art of collaboration, as several of his past FIMAV performances (with Richard Pinhas, Merzbow, Oren Ambarchi, Thurston Moore, etc.) have attested.

Prepare for a noise music trip in great company!

On the Web
Senyawa (Bandcamp)

Keiji Haino


THE EX @ 40

The Ex foto by Susanna Martins WEB

NETHERLANDS

A collaboration
cism


Katerina Bornefeld : batterie, voix
Arnold de Boer : guitare électrique, voix
Terrie Hessels : guitares électriques
Andy Moor : guitares électriques

For the past forty years, each performance by THE EX has been memorable – every single one of them. The energy, in-the-moment vibe, and unsurpassed camaraderie at the core of this band make it a must. Period.

Hailing from the Netherlands, THE EX is the embodiment of the Do-It-Yourself ethos. They always managed their own career, released their records themselves, organized their own tours, and chose their musical directions in collegiality. No compromise, not a single concession to “the market”. Four decades later, THE EX is as potent an institution of European indie rock as you are likely to find. Their influence transcends borders, styles, and generations. We should all draw inspiration from their integrity and convictions.

The band recently released a strong new record entitled 27 Passports, their first full-length opus as a quartet since 2010’s Catch My Shoe. They are back in Victoriaville (their fourth visit!) to tear the roof off the Colisée. The album was recorded in three days, after honing and trimming down the songs old-school style: on the road. And it shows: the music is punchy, feral, essential.

On the Web
The Ex

FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 FR 300dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 FR 72dpi.1

PROGRAMMe DOUBLE

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

DIMANCHE 19 MAI
COLISÉE A
22 H - 40 $

 

SENYAWA / kEIJI HAINO

montage senyawa Haino WebINDONÉSIE, JAPON
PREMIÈRE NORD-AMÉRICAINE

Une collaboration

chyz


Rully Shabara : voix
Wukir Suryadi : bambuwukir
Keiji Haino : guitare électrique, électroniques, polygonola, percussion

SENYAWA a fait tout un tabac au FIMAV en 2017. Le duo indonésien a frappé de nombreux spectateurs en plein plexus : l’originalité de leur approche, les prouesses vocales de RULLY SHABARA, la maîtrise de WUKIR SURYADI sur cet instrument inventé qui fait presque tout.

Depuis, le groupe fait beaucoup jaser. Les grands magazines des musiques de recherche en parlent et un nouvel album, Sujud, est paru sous étiquette Sublime Frequencies, ce qui en fait le premier disque de SENYAWA à profiter d’une distribution élargie.

Quand nous avons demandé à RULLY et à WUKIR avec qui ils aimeraient collaborer pour leur prochaine visite à Victoriaville, le nom de KEIJI HAINO trônait au sommet de leur liste. Une première expérience fort concluante avait eu lieu en 2016, en quatuor avec le guitariste Kazuhisa Uchihashi, au Festival CTM de Berlin. Et sachez que HAINO est passé maître dans l’art de la collaboration, chose qu’il a démontrée encore et encore au FIMAV (avec Richard Pinhas, Merzbow, Oren Ambarchi, Thurston Moore, etc.).

Préparez-vous à une envolée bruitiste en excellente compagnie!

Sur le Web
Senyawa (Bandcamp)


THE EX @ 40

The Ex foto by Susanna Martins WEB

PAYS-BAS

Une collaboration
cism


Katerina Bornefeld : batterie, voix
Arnold de Boer : guitare électrique, voix
Terrie Hessels : guitares électriques
Andy Moor : guitares électriques

Depuis 40 ans déjà, chaque concert de THE EX est mémorable. C-H-A-C-U-N de leurs concerts. L’énergie, l’à-propos, la complicité insurpassée qui règne dans ce groupe en font un « incontournable » à tout coup.

Ce groupe néerlandais incarne l’idéal du « fais-le toi-même ». Il a toujours géré sa carrière, ses disques (sur sa propre étiquette), ses tournées et ses orientations musicales en collégialité. Aucun compromis, jamais une seule concession faite au « marché ». Quatre décennies plus tard, THE EX est une véritable institution du rock indépendant européen. Son influence transcende les frontières, les styles et les générations. Tous devraient s’inspirer de son intégrité et de ses convictions.

Fort d’un solide nouveau disque intitulé 27 Passports, son premier en format quatuor depuis Catch My Shoe (2010), THE EX est de retour à Victoriaville (pour la quatrième fois!) pour casser la baraque. Les chansons de cet opus enregistré en trois jours ont été dégrossies sur la route, à l’ancienne, et ça paraît : le rock y est mordant, animal, essentiel.

Sur le Web
The Ex