FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 EN 72dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 EN 72dpi.1

TOMAGA

Back to schedule | Tickets

Tomaga at Sainte Marie De La Tourette phtographed by Agathe Max

ENGLAND
CANADIAN PREMIERE

FRIDAY MAY 17
COLISÉE B
MIDNIGHT - $20


Valentina Magaletti : batterie, vibraphone, percussion
Thomas Relleen : claviers, basse électrique

This is magical music made of polyrhythms, hypnotic constructions, heady blends inspired by the pioneers of krautrock, with elements of noise, musique concrète and field recording thrown in. All this delivered with drive, style, and undisputable originality.

TOMAGA is a bass/drums duo, though this tag proves too reductive: the drummer is foremost a percussionist, and the bassist wears several hats on stage. Both honed their skills in a plethora of psychedelic rock and punk bands. They made up the rhythm section of The Oscillation, which they quit to form TOMAGA. Freed from the despotism of the electric guitar in these music styles, the pair started working on lighter, more open-ended music.

Since then, this prolific duo has been the talk of the town, garnering accolades and support from influent people like Faust and Thurston Moore. They also collaborated with French maverick Pierre Bastien. Their albums, especially the more recent ones, are an invitation to deep listening, while their shows offer an opportunity for fascinating trances.

On the Web
Tomaga
Bandcamp

STUDENT PRICE FOR MIDNIGHT CONCERTS
($5 off the regular ticket price / individual ticket)
At the door only
Student card and ID card required

BanniereTemporaire2020 2650x550FR
BanniereTemporaire2020 768x768FR

TOMAGA

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

Tomaga at Sainte Marie De La Tourette phtographed by Agathe Max

ANGLETERRE
PREMIÈRE CANADIENNE

VENDREDI 17 MAI
COLISÉE B
MINUIT - 20 $


Valentina Magaletti : batterie, vibraphone, percussion
Thomas Relleen : claviers, basse électrique

Musique magique faite de polyrythmies, de constructions hypnotiques, de savants mélanges s’inspirant des pionniers du krautrock, avec des éléments de bruitisme, de musique concrète et de field recording. Le tout livré avec énergie, brio et une originalité indiscutable.

TOMAGA est un duo basse-batterie, mais cette appellation est réductrice : la batteuse est d’abord et avant tout percussionniste et le bassiste accumule d’autres rôles sur scène. Tous deux ont fait leurs armes dans une multitude de groupes de rock psychédélique et de punk. Ils formaient la section rythmique du groupe The Oscillation, qu’ils ont quitté pour créer TOMAGA. Affranchis du despotisme de la guitare électrique dans ces genres musicaux, ils se sont mis à travailler des musiques toutes en ouvertures.

Depuis, ce duo prolifique fait énormément jaser, gagnant au passage le soutien de figures dominantes comme Faust et Thurston Moore. Il a aussi collaboré avec l’iconoclaste français Pierre Bastien. Ses albums, surtout les plus récents, sont une invitation à l’écoute profonde et ses concerts, l’occasion d’une transe fascinante.

Sur le Web
Tomaga
Bandcamp

RABAIS ÉTUDIANT - SÉRIE DE MINUIT
(5 $ de rabais / billet individuel)
À la porte seulement
Carte étudiante et d'identité requises