BanniereTemporaire2020 2650x550EN
BanniereTemporaire2020 768x768EN

VIJAY IYER SEXTET

Back to schedule | Tickets

VijaySextet credit Lynne Harty

USA
CANADIAN PREMIERE

SATURDAY MAY 18
COLISÉE A
10 PM - $42


Vijay Iyer : piano, clavier
Graham Haynes : cornet, bugle, électroniques
Steve Lehman : saxophone alto
Mark Shim : saxophone ténor
Stephan Crump : contrebasse
Tyshawn Sorey : batterie


If pianist VIJAY IYER has become the poster boy of the younger jazz generation, it is due to the unfailing quality and surprising scope of his projects. And the jazz planet’s favourite, now with four “artist of the year” titles from Downbeat Magazine, is only in his mid-forties!

IYER has worked with Steve Coleman, Wadada Leo Smith, and Rudresh Mahanthappa. His uniquely supple playing is infused in a holistic approach to jazz where the whole history of the genre is taken into account without becoming restrictive. His music relies on innovation, creativity and a spirit of adventure.

IYER’s first visit to FIMAV goes back to 2006, as a member of the trio Fieldwork. Incidentally, his partners at the time, STEVE LEHMAN and TYSHAWN SOREY, are also a part of the magnificent journey that is this sextet, whose debut recording Far from Over came out in 2017 on ECM. The line-up sports a strong brass section (LEHMAN, MARK SHIM, and GRAHAM HAYNES who also plays electronics) that is put to wonderful use.

This jazz is bold, virtuosic, thought-out, visceral, and very much alive.

BanniereTemporaire2020 2650x550FR
BanniereTemporaire2020 768x768FR

VIJAY IYER SEXTET

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

VijaySextet credit Lynne Harty

ÉTATS-UNIS
PREMIÈRE CANADIENNE

SAMEDI 18 MAI    
COLISÉE A
22 H - 42 $ 

Vijay Iyer : piano, clavier
Graham Haynes : cornet, bugle, électroniques
Steve Lehman : saxophone alto
Mark Shim : saxophone ténor
Stephan Crump : contrebasse
Tyshawn Sorey : batterie

Si le pianiste VIJAY IYER incarne toute une génération jazz, c’est grâce à de la qualité infléchissable et à l’étonnante diversité de ses projets. Il n’a que la mi-quarantaine, mais il est déjà la coqueluche de la planète jazz, ayant été sacré artiste de l’année par le magazine Downbeat à quatre reprises!

IYER a travaillé avec Steve Coleman, Wadada Leo Smith et Rudresh Mahanthappa. Son jeu, particulièrement souple, se conjugue à une approche holistique du jazz, dont toute l’histoire du genre se reflète dans sa musique sans jamais la limiter. Car l’innovation, la créativité, l’esprit d’aventure demeurent les pierres d’assises de son art.

Sa première visite au FIMAV remonte en 2006, au sein du groupe Fieldwork. Notons au passage que ses compères de l’époque, STEVE LEHMAN et TYSHAWN SOREY, sont de la magnifique aventure qu’est ce sextuor, dont l’album Far from Over est paru en 2017 sous étiquette ECM. La formation met de l’avant une solide ligne de cuivres (LEHMAN, MARK SHIM et GRAHAM HAYNES qui joue aussi des électroniques) magnifiquement utilisée.

Du grand jazz audacieux, virtuose, réfléchi, viscéral et surtout bien vivant.

Sur le Web
Vijay Iyer
Bandcamp