FIMAV33 SiteWeb Ang 2650x550m
FIMAV33 SiteWeb Ang 768x768m

GUNDA GOTTSCHALK / UTE VÖLKER

« Sky and Grassland »

Back to Schedule | Tickets

gunda1GERMANY, MONGOLIA
NORTH AMERICAN PREMIERE

SATURDAY MAY 20
CARRÉ 150
8 PM - $ 30  

Avec l'aide du
GI Logo horizontal black sRGB

Badamkhorol Samdandamba : voix
Badamkhand Samdandamba : voix
Bat-Otgon Samdandamba : voix
Ute Völker : accordéon
Gunda Gottschalk : violon

In 2014, free improvisers GUNDA GOTTSCHALK and UTE VÖLKER took part to the Roaring Hooves Festival. For two weeks, they crisscrossed the steppes and dunes of Mongolia, meeting and playing with several traditional musicians, especially singers.

A magical spark struck between them and world-renowned singer BADAMKHOROL SAMDANDAMBA, the Festival’s organizer and a leading performer of urtiin duu, the Mongolian long song, a music style inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List. Since then, this trio, joined by BADAMKHOROL’s sisters, has recorded a CD and performed a handful of concerts in Europe.

« Sky and Grassland » brings together the spontaneous nature of free improvisation yielding from extensive research works on the soundings of acoustic instruments, on the one hand, and, on the other, the roots of a perfectly mastered millennial form of vocal art. GOTTSCHALK and VÖLKER have been playing together for more than 25 years, reaching an unparalleled depth in their musical relationship. This is VÖLKER’s first appearance at FIMAV; GOTTSCHALK was with us in 2008 with Xu Fengxia for an enthralling duo performance, luckily released on Les Disques VICTO.

On the web...
Gunda Gottschalk
Ute Völker

FIMAV32 SiteWeb 2650x550 v1
banniere fimav 2017 mobile

GUNDA GOTTSCHALK / UTE VÖLKER

« Sky and Grassland »

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

gunda1ALLEMAGNE, MONGOLIE
PREMIÈRE NORD-AMÉRICAINE

SAMEDI 20 MAI
CARRÉ 150
20 H - 30 $  

Avec l'aide du
GI Logo horizontal black sRGB

Badamkhorol Samdandamba : voix
Badamkhand Samdandamba : voix
Bat-Otgon Samdandamba : voix
Ute Völker : accordéon
Gunda Gottschalk : violon

En 2014, les improvisatrices GUNDA GOTTSCHALK et UTE VÖLKER ont participé au Festival Roaring Hooves. Pendant deux semaines, elles ont parcouru les steppes et les dunes de la Mongolie, multipliant les rencontres avec des musiciens traditionnels, particulièrement des chanteurs.

Quelque chose de magique s’est produit entre elles et la chanteuse de renommée mondiale BADAMKHOROL SAMDANDAMBA, organisatrice du Festival et spécialiste de l’urtiin duu ou chant long mongol, une forme musicale classée patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO. Depuis, le trio, auquel se joignent les sœurs de BADAMKHOROL, a enregistré un disque et donné quelques concerts en Europe.

Le projet « Sky and Grassland » réunit donc la spontanéité d’une improvisation libre issue de recherches intensives sur la sonorité d’instruments acoustiques et les racines d’un art vocal millénaire parfaitement maîtrisé. En outre, GOTTSCHALK et VÖLKER jouent ensemble depuis plus de 25 ans; elles se comprennent à un niveau télépathique évident. Il s’agit de la première visite de l’accordéoniste à Victoriaville. Quant à la violoniste, elle a présenté en 2008 un duo avec Xu Fengxia qui en a ravi plus d’un et qui a fait l’objet d’un CD sur Les Disques VICTO.

Sur le web...
Gunda Gottschalk
Ute Völker