FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 EN 72dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 EN 72dpi.1

EXPERIMENTAL SHORT FILMS PROGRAMS

Back to schedule | Tickets

PROGRAM 1: JOHN ZORN / FILMWORKS

SATURDAY MAY 18
CÉGEP DE VICTORIAVILLE (BIBLIOTHÈQUE)
11 AM & 6:30 PM - $7
(18 years and up)

Throughout his prolific career, JOHN ZORN has worked closely with cinema, his tributes to both Ennio Morricone and Jean-Luc Godard (The Big Gundown, Godard) reflect this. He also composed the original music of several films that he published in 25 volumes as part of his Filmworks Series. While he has worked on many fiction and documentary films, ZORN composed film music only for the projects which he found to be of personal interest. These include experimental films and films dealing with BDSM and LGBT culture. This program of short films proposes a few highlights of this underground production.

Karl Lemieux, short films curator

JOSEPH CORNELL
By Night with Torch and Spear
Video, 8 minutes, 19421 by night with torch and spear WEB

JOSEPH CORNELL (1903-1972) was an American artist and filmmaker, one of the pioneers and most celebrated exponents of assemblage. Influenced by the Surrealists, he was also an avant-garde experimental filmmaker. By Night with Torch and Spear is a montage of archive footage from industrial, nature and ethnographic documentaries – a steelworks, caterpillars, Native American dances, camel trains – made strange by juxtaposition and upside-down, backwards and negative printing. The film was discovered after CORNELL’s death. It is presented here with an original soundtrack by JOHN ZORN. (source: One Surrealist a Day)

Courtesy of Anthology Film Archives, New York


HENRY HILLS
Naked City Series #1: Gotham

Video, 2 minutes, 19902 gotham WEB

HENRY HILLS has been making dense, intensely rhythmic experimental films since 1975. A longtime resident of New York's East Village, he currently lives in Vienna. Among many honors, he received the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship in 2009. His films are included in the permanent collection of the Museum of Modern Art and are available on DVD from Tzadik. He has an ongoing collaborative relationship with works including Money (1985), Little Lieutenant (1994), Mechanics of the Brain (1997) and Arcana (2011). Gotham is a music video he directed for JOHN ZORN's band Naked City. (source: artist website)


ARNO BOUCHARD
The Last Supper
Video, 20 minutes, 20093 the last supper

ARNO BOUCHARD was born in Lyon, France. He works and lives in Paris. After graduating from the Sorbonne (Cinema and modern literature) in Paris, he continued writing novels, stories and developing his inner world. He abandoned words for a while and started writing with images. His film work is at the borderline between cinema and contemporary art and is very difficult to classify. It has been referred to as timeless, provocative and poetic. The Last Supper was initially integrated in a sculpture that was produced in 7 copies and has had very few traditional screenings. ZORN's soundtrack for The Last Supper, which was released as Filmworks XXII, highlighted his growing interest in composing for vocal groups. (source: artist website)


MARIA BEATTY
The Black Glove
Video, 25 minutes, 19974 the black glove WEB


For over 27 years, MARIA BEATTY has produced and directed films that are on the cutting edge of art and female eroticism. A precursor to the so-called new wave of “erotic noir,” she is renowned for her profound explorations of female sexuality, body politics and lesbian desires. Her work was screened at The Museum of Modern Art and at The Whitney Museum in New York and retrospectives of her work appeared in festivals such as the Berlin Film Festival and the International Film Festival of Rotterdam. In 1995, BEATTY conceived and produced her first erotic film The Elegant Spanking, which was shot in black and white with an original soundtrack by JOHN ZORN. Their subsequent collaborations include, The Black Glove (1997) which quickly became a cult film, and Belle de Nature (2008). In 1997, she started her own distribution company, Bleu Productions, and since then she has produced, directed and edited over thirty lesbian and queer transgressive erotic films. She has appeared in several of her own movies and live stage performances. (source: artist website)



PROGRAM 2: LE GESTE CRÉATIF MUSICAL

SUNDAY MAY 19
CÉGEP DE VICTIORIAVILLE (BIBLIOTHÈQUE)
11 AM & 6:30 PM - $7 

In an effort to highlight the ever present dialogue between experimental film and music, we introduced this new film series to the Festival programming two years ago. The short films presented in this program offer portraits of musicians captured in the moment and which intensify, in various ways, their creative gesture. Whether it is simply recording the work of artists with a stripped device, or prolonging it by a series of complex photochemical manipulations, these four films make it possible to recapture musical creation through the prism of experimental film.

Karl Lemieux, short films curator



PIP CHODOROV
Charlemagne 2: Piltzer
16 mm, 22 minutes, 20025 Charlemagne 2 Piltzer WEB

Originally from New York, PIP CHODOROV is an associate professor at Dongguk University in Seoul, where he teaches film production and experimental cinema. A filmmaker in his own right, he is the author of experimental shorts as well as documentary portraits of filmmakers including Free Radicals: A History of Experimental Film (2011). He is the moderator of the internet-based forum on experimental film, FrameWorks, and works in film distribution with, Voir Video in Paris, which he founded in 1994. Charlemagne 2: Piltzer is a documentation of the concert of composer Charlemagne Palestine, reworked with the optical printer, following a precise notation of the concert. The speed of the pianist directs the speed of scrolling images. The final result is at once a diary film, a document of the concert, a structural flicker film, a hand-processed film, a graphic representation of music, and an attempt to apply cognitive principles in sensation and perception to film art.



STEFANO CANAPA
Jérôme Noetinger
Video, 12 minutes, 20186 jerome noetinger WEB


STEFANO CANAPA (1977, Italy) graduated in 2001 from DAMS University in Turin. Since moving to Paris, he has directed and developed his films at L'Abominable, a cinematographic artist laboratory managed collectively by a group of filmmakers of which he is a member. After moving to France, he combined his training with his experience from L’Abominable, and contributed to setting up similar organizations in Turin. He has been increasingly involved in projects with live components: installations, performance art, multidisciplinary improvisations. In Jérôme Noetinger, the musician of the same name, alone in front of the camera, plays his Revox B77 reel to reel tape recorder. For the duration of a 16mm film reel, STEFANO CANAPA decided to set down this improvised instant with a deliberately simple cinematic device, giving the spectator a poetic and delicate experience without neglecting a certain pedagogical aspect. The film is at the same time a portrait, a study of movement, and a sound piece in its own right, fixed on a perennial support: a strip of traditional black and white 35mm film.


MOÏA JOBIN-PARÉ
Sans objets
Video, 5 minutes, 2019SANS OBJETS WEB 2

After studying film and music in Montreal, MOÏA JOBIN-PARÉ pursued her artistic practice as a percussionist and audiovisual artist. Filmmaker at the crossroads of animation and photography, she has developed a singular and innovative technique by scratching the silver emulsion of photographs, which she now exhibits and uses to create original short films. Sans objets immerses viewers in a sensory exploration of the nature of the gesture in an experimental work that brings together scratched photographies and a soundtrack composed from original recordings of Cédric Dind-Lavoie, Julie Cloutier Delorme, Martin Tétreault, Simon Drouin, Thierry Guibert, Sonic Luz (Klaus Filip, Arnold Haber) and Wohnzimmermusik (Billy Roisz, Dieter Kovačič). (source: ONF)


CHARLES-ANDRÉ CODERRE
H2T
16 mm, 6 minutes, 2014H2T C A CODERRE 3 2014


CHARLES-ANDRÉ CODERRE lives and works in Montreal. He completed a Masters in contemporary experimental cinema at Université de Montréal and is a regular contributor to the film magazine 24 images. Dedicated to analog techniques, he is a member of the Montreal collective of experimental cinema Double Negative. He also is part of the audiovisual project Jerusalem In My Heart alongside with Radwan Ghazi Moumneh. CHARLES-ANDRÉ completed a first feature film, Desert Cry (Déserts), in 2016, co-directed with Yann-Manuel Hernandez. Shot on several types of film, H2T takes place in the mighty Hotel2Tango Montreal recording studio. The film is a chemical composition where light meets the effervescence and creativity of Sam Shalabi's band Land of Kush, during the making of their latest album, The Big Mango (2013). Filming of the recording session during rehearsals and breaks, the picture is just as ephemeral as the musicians’ movements. H2T reflects on the performative aspect specific to experimental film and musical performance.


VINCENT MOON
Calling the New Gods - Senyawa live in Java
Video, 25 minutes, 20128 calling the new gods

VINCENT MOON is an independent filmmaker from Paris. He was the main director of the Blogotheque's Take Away Shows, a web-based project recording field work music videos of indie rock related musicians as well as some notable mainstream artists like Tom Jones, R.E.M., or Arcade Fire. VINCENT MOON is known for traveling around the globe with a camera in his backpack, documenting local folklores, sacred music and religious rituals, for his label Collection Petites Planètes. He works alone or with people he finds on the road, and most of the time without money involved in the projects. He shares much of his work, films and music recordings, for free on the internet, under Creative Commons license. (source: wikipedia) Calling the New Gods is a portrait of the legendary Indonesian band SENYAWA. The film was shot in Yogyakarta and its surroundings in the country of origin of the musicians. (source: vimeo)


Karl Lemieux would like to thank : André Habib, Gina Deyoung, John Zorn, John Klacsmann (Anthology Film Archives), Jeffery Lambert (Pacific Film Archive) and Light Cone.

FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 FR 300dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 FR 72dpi.1

PROGRAMMES DE COURTS MÉTRAGES EXPÉRIMENTAUX

Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

PROGRAMME 1 : JOHN ZORN / FILMWORKS

SAMEDI 18 MAI
CÉGEP DE VICTORIAVILLE (BIBLIOTHÈQUE)
11 H ET 18 H 30 - 7 $
(18 ANS ET + )

La carrière faste et protéiforme de JOHN ZORN est traversée par la présence du cinéma, qu’il s’agisse de disques hommages à Ennio Morricone ou Jean-Luc Godard (The Big Gundown, Godard), ou encore de musiques originales de films qu'il publiera en 25 volumes dans sa série Filmworks. S'il a travaillé sur de nombreux films de fiction et des documentaires, ZORN ne s'implique que dans des projets qu'il trouve personnellement intéressants. Parmi ceux-ci figurent plusieurs films expérimentaux et des films traitant de la culture BDSM et LGBT. Ce programme de courts-métrages propose un survol de quelques moments marquants de cette production souterraine.

Karl Lemieux, commissaire aux courts métrages

JOSEPH CORNELL
By Night with Torch and Spear
Vidéo, 8 minutes, 1942 1 by night with torch and spear WEB

JOSEPH CORNELL (1903-1972) était un artiste et cinéaste d'avant-garde américain, célébré pour son travail pionnier dans la pratique des assemblages, créés à partir d’objets trouvés. Influencé par le surréalisme, il était aussi un cinéaste expérimental. By Night with Torch and Spear est un montage de films documentaires, industriels, naturels et ethnographiques – forges, chenilles, danses et chameaux – rendus étranges par les juxtapositions, les images renversées, inversées ou encore tirées en négatif. Le film fut découvert après la mort de l’artiste. Il est ici présenté avec une musique originale de JOHN ZORN. (source : One Surrealist a Day)

Gracieuseté d'Anthology Film Archives, New York

HENRY HILLS
Naked City Series #1: Gotham
Vidéo, 2 minutes, 19902 gotham WEB


HENRY HILLS réalise des films expérimentaux, rythmiquement denses, depuis 1975. Il vit aussi actuellement à Vienne, en Autriche, après avoir longtemps habité dans le East Village à New York. Entre autres honneurs, il a reçu en 2009 une bourse commémorative John Simon Guggenheim. Ses films font partie de la collection permanente du Musée d’Art Moderne de New York et ils sont disponibles sur DVD sur l’étiquette Tzadik. Il travaille avec JOHN ZORN depuis plusieurs années. Ils ont notamment collaboré sur les films Money (1985), Little Lieutenant (1994), Mechanics of the Brain (1997) et Arcana (2011). Gotham est un vidéo qu’il a réalisé pour le groupe Naked City de JOHN ZORN. (source : site web de l'artiste)


ARNO BOUCHARD
The Last Supper
Vidéo, 20 minutes, 20093 the last supper

ARNO BOUCHARD est né à Lyon, en France, et vit et travaille à Paris. Diplômé de l’Université Jean Moulin en Lettres Modernes puis de la Sorbonne section cinéma, il écrit des essais, des critiques cinématographiques, des scénarios, et ne cesse de nourrir son monde intérieur. Il abandonne quelques temps les mots pour écrire avec les images. Son travail filmique est à la frontière de l’art contemporain et du cinéma, ce qui le rend très atypique. On parle souvent de son travail comme d’un travail intemporel, provocateur et poétique. The Last Supper a été créé pour être intégré dans une installation, dont il existe 7 copies. Nous aurons droit ici à une très rare projection traditionnelle du film. La bande originale de ZORN, qui a été publiée sur Filmworks XXII, soulignait à l'époque son intérêt croissant pour la composition pour des groupes vocaux. (source : site web de l'artiste)


MARIA BEATTY
The Black Glove
Vidéo, 25 minutes, 19974 the black glove WEB


Depuis plus de vingt-sept ans MARIA BEATTY produit et réalise des films à la frontière de l'art et de l'érotisme féminin. Précurseure de la soi-disant nouvelle vague des films « noir érotique », elle est réputée pour ses explorations de la sexualité féminine, de la politique du corps et de ses désirs. Son travail a été projeté au Musée d’Art Moderne ainsi qu’au Whitney Museum de New York. Elle a eu des rétrospectives dans des festivals tels que le Festival de Berlin et le Festival de Rotterdam. En 1995, BEATTY réalise et produit son premier film érotique, The Elegant Spanking, tourné en noir et blanc avec une bande sonore originale de JOHN ZORN. Leur collaboration inclus également The Black Glove (1997), qui est rapidement devenu un film culte, et Belle de nature (2008). En 1997, elle crée sa propre société de distribution, Bleu Productions, et depuis, elle a produit, réalisé et monté plus d'une trentaine de films érotiques transgressifs. Elle a joué dans plusieurs de ses films et performances scéniques. (source : site web de l’artiste)



PROGRAMME 2 : LE GESTE CRÉATIF MUSICAL

DIMANCHE 19 MAI
CÉGEP DE VICTIORIAVILLE (BIBLIOTHÈQUE)
11 H et 18 H 30 - 7 $

Afin de souligner le dialogue évident entre le cinéma expérimental et la musique, nous avons initié cette nouvelle série de films au Festival il y a deux ans. Ces courts métrages offrent des portraits de musiciens et qui intensifient, de diverses façons, leur geste créatif. Qu’il s’agisse de simplement enregistrer, par un dispositif dépouillé, le travail des artistes, ou encore de le prolonger par une série de manipulations photochimiques complexes, les quatre films qui composent ce programme permettent de ressaisir la création musicale au prisme du cinéma expérimental.

Karl Lemieux, commissaire aux courts métrages

 

PIP CHODOROV
Charlemagne 2: Piltzer
16 mm, 22 minutes, 2002
5 Charlemagne 2 Piltzer WEB

D'origine new-yorkaise, PIP CHODOROV est professeur associé à l'Université Dongguk à Séoul, en Corée du Sud, où il enseigne la production cinématographique et le cinéma expérimental. Cinéaste à part entière, il est l'auteur de courts métrages expérimentaux et de portraits documentaires de cinéastes, dont Free Radicals : A History of Experimental Film (2011). (source : sense of cinema) Il est le modérateur du forum internet sur le cinéma expérimental FrameWorks et il a fondé la boîte de distribution de cinéma expérimental, Voir Video, basée à Paris. (source : Lightcone) Charlemagne 2: Piltzer est un document du concert du compositeur Charlemagne Palestine, retravaillé à la tireuse optique, en suivant une notation précise du concert. La vitesse du pianiste dirige la vitesse de défilement des images. Le résultat final est à la fois un journal filmé spontané, une trace du concert, un film de clignotement structuraliste, un film traité à la main, une représentation graphique de la musique et une tentative pour appliquer des principes de la science cognitive de la sensation et de la perception à l’art cinématographique. (source : film-documentaire.fr)



STEFANO CANAPA
Jérôme Noetinger
Vidéo, 12 minutes, 20186 jerome noetinger WEB


STEFANO CANAPA (1977, Italie) est diplômé en histoire du cinéma à l'Université DAMS de Turin. Depuis son arrivé en France il réalise et développe ses films à L'Abominable, un laboratoire cinématographique d'artistes géré collectivement par un groupe de cinéastes dont il fait partie. Il a combiné sa formation avec son expérience au laboratoire parisien pour contribuer à la création d'organisations similaires à Turin. Il a été impliqué dans plusieurs projets de performances, installations et improvisations multidisciplinaires. Dans Jérôme Noetinger, le musicien improvisateur du même nom, seul face à la caméra joue de son magnétophone à bandes Revox B77. Dans la durée d'une bobine de film 16mm, STEFANO CANAPA a décidé de fixer cet instant improvisé avec un dispositif cinématographique délibérément simple, qui offre au spectateur une expérience poétique et sensible sans pour autant délaisser une certaine dimension pédagogique. Le film est à la fois un portrait, une étude sur le mouvement et une pièce sonore à part entière, fixés sur un support pérenne : un ruban de film argentique noir et blanc 35mm. (source : Lightcone)



MOÏA JOBIN-PARÉ
Sans objets
Vidéo, 5 minutes, 2019 SANS OBJETS WEB 2


Après des études en cinéma et en musique à Montréal, MOÏA JOBIN-PARÉ a poursuivi une pratique indépendante de percussionniste et de bricoleuse audiovisuelle. Cinéaste au croisement de l’animation et de la photographie, elle a développé une technique singulière en grattant directement des photographies argentiques. Elle utilise cette technique pour réaliser des œuvres picturales et des courts métrages. Sans objets est une exploration sensorielle sur l’essence du geste, alliant le grattage sur photographies et une trame sonore de Benjamin Proulx-Mathers, construite à partir de captations originales de Cédric Dind-Lavoie, Julie Cloutier Delorme, Martin Tétreault, Simon Drouin, Thierry Guibert, Sonic Luz (Klaus Filip, Arnold Haberl), Billy Roisz et Dieter Kovačič. (source : ONF)



CHARLES-ANDRÉ CODERRE
H2T
16 mm, 6 minutes, 2014

7 H2T
CHARLES-ANDRÉ CODERRE vit et travaille à Montréal. Il est détenteur d'une maîtrise de l'Université de Montréal portant sur le cinéma expérimental contemporain et collabore à la revue de cinéma 24 images. Dévoué aux techniques de cinéma analogique, il est membre du collectif montréalais Double Négatif. CHARLES-ANDRÉ fait également partie du projet audiovisuel Jerusalem In My Heart (Constellation Records) aux côtés de Radwan Ghazi Moumneh. CHARLES-ANDRÉ a réalisé un premier long-métrage, en 2016, Déserts, une co-réalisation avec Yann-Manuel Hernandez. Tourné sur plusieurs types de pellicule, H2T prend place dans le mythique studio montréalais Hotel2Tango. Le film se présente comme une composition chimique où la lumière rencontre le bouillonnement créatif du groupe Land of Kush de Sam Shalabi, pendant l’enregistrement de leur album The Big Mango (2013). Filmant les répétitions et les moments d’attente lors de la session d’enregistrement, il s’agit d’une formule filmique tout aussi éphémère que les gestes des musiciens. H2T propose une réflexion sur l’aspect performatif propre au cinéma expérimental et à la prestation musicale.



VINCENT MOON
Calling the New Gods - Senyawa live in Java
Vidéo, 25 minutes, 20128 calling the new gods

VINCENT MOON est un réalisateur français indépendant de films musicaux, né à Paris. Il fut le réalisateur principal des Concerts à Emporter de La Blogothèque de 2006 à 2009, un projet exclusivement pensé pour internet, le plus souvent en extérieur, consacré à la musique indie-rock ainsi qu'à des musiciens plus connus comme R.E.M., Tom Jones ou Arcade Fire. De 2009 à 2013, MOON a parcouru le monde, une caméra dans son sac à dos, pour sa collection Petites Planètes, documentant les rituels religieux, la musique sacrée, et les folklores locaux. Il travaille seul ou avec l'unique assistance des populations locales, et la plupart du temps sans argent engagé dans ses projets, en essayant de produire ses films sans suivre les schémas établis de l'industrie cinématographique. Il partage tout son travail, films et enregistrements musicaux, gratuitement sur internet, sous licence Creative Commons. (source : wikipedia) Calling the New Gods est un portrait du groupe indonésien mythique SENYAWA. Le film a été tourné à Yogyakarta et ses environs dans le pays d'origine des musiciens. (source : vimeo)


Karl Lemieux aimerait remercier: André Habib, Gina Deyoung, Syl Disjonk, John Zorn, John Klacsmann (Anthology Film Archives), Jeffery Lambert (Pacific Film Archive) et Light Cone.