FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 EN 72dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 EN 72dpi.1

JOHN BUTCHER SOLO

Back to schedule | Tickets

John Butecher credit Bryony McKintyre V2

ENGLAND


SUNDAY MAY 19
ÉGLISE ST-CHRISTOPHE D'ARTHABASKA  
1 PM - $26

John Butcher : saxophones soprano et ténor

The British saxophonist JOHN BUTCHER is an incredible technician. He has absorbed Evan Parker’s extended techniques and expanded them in unique directions. His highly characteristic multiphonic playing bewilders the ear. And he has developed an acute sense of musical construction that instills deliberate consciousness in his free improvisations.

BUTCHER is particularly fond of unpredictable meetings and collaborations. He has made a few trips to Victoriaville (notably with the trios Thermal and The Contest of Pleasures, the Phil Minton Quartet, and Polwechsel), but had yet to be featured in a solo concert. And the solo concert has been his greatest strength for the past 35 years. His discography is littered with solo albums, starting with the still excellent Thirteen Friendly Numbers released in 1991 on Acta, a label he co-founded. (Nowadays, he runs the small imprint Weight of Wax.)

BUTCHER, who was a physician before turning to a professional career as a musician, is amazing at adapting to the acoustic properties of a site. That is why his concert will be presented at the St-Christophe d’Arthabaska Church, the perfect venue for this great artist, among the most innovative ones of his generation.

On the Web
John Butcher

FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 FR 300dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 FR 72dpi.1

JOHN BUTCHER SOLO

 Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

John Butecher credit Bryony McKintyre V2

ANGLETERRE

DIMANCHE 19 MAI    
ÉGLISE ST-CHRISTOPHE D'ARTHABASKA
13 H - 26 $  

John Butcher : saxophones soprano et ténor

Le saxophoniste britannique JOHN BUTCHER est un technicien phénoménal. Il a absorbé les techniques étendues d’Evan Parker pour les pousser dans de nouvelles directions. Son jeu multiphonique, très caractéristique, est fascinant à suivre. À cela s’ajoute un sens aguerri de la construction musicale qui anime ses improvisations libres d’une vie délibérée.

BUTCHER est particulièrement friand de rencontres et de collaborations inattendues. Il est venu à quelques reprises au FIMAV (notamment avec les trios Thermal et The Contest of Pleasures, le quatuor de Phil Minton, Polwechsel), mais jamais comme soliste. Or, depuis trente-cinq ans, le concert solo demeure sa grande force. Sa discographie est jonchée d’albums solos, à commencer par le toujours excellent Thirteen Friendly Numbers publié en 1991 chez Acta, étiquette qu’il avait cofondée (aujourd’hui, il veille à la destinée de l’étiquette Weight of Wax).

Ce physicien de formation a développé une capacité magnifique d’adaptation aux propriétés acoustiques d’un lieu. C’est d’ailleurs pourquoi sa prestation sera présentée à l’Église St-Christophe d’Arthabaska, l’espace idéal pour ce grand artiste, l’un des plus novateurs de sa génération.

Sur le Web
John Butcher