PS FIMAV36 Web 2650x550 v2 EN
PS FIMAV36 Web 768x768 v2 EN

le chœur de growlers

Back to schedule | Tickets

Le Choeur de GrowlersQUEBEC

FRIDAY MAY 15
COLISÉE B
MIDNIGHT - $26

A collaboration
Logo Chyz GRILLE HORAIRE


Pierre-Luc Senécal : direction, ordinateur, composition
Fortner Anderson : voix, texte
Chœur de 15 Growlers : Mikaïl Standjofski-Figols, Sébastien Croteau, Pascal Germain-Berardi, Corinne Cardinal, Roxana Bouchard, Philippe Langelier, Étienne Dufresne, Samuel Arseneau-Roy, Patrick Goyette, Jean-Charles Carrère, Jessica Dupré, Maude Théberge, Yves Godbout, Jeffrey MacDermott, Laurent Bellemare

Imagine, if you will, an experimental choir consisting only of heavy metal growlers

The idea came to PIERRE-LUC SENÉCAL in 2016. SENÉCAL, a composer and electroacoustic artist, writes music for dance, film, and theatre. He is also a serious metal fan, and a member of the Joker choir that performed at FIMAV last year.

Metal singing, be it of the guttural, cavernous or screeching kind, requires very specific techniques and talent. SENÉCAL recruited fifteen such singers in the Montreal area, trained them, and composed mixed music for them (meaning that the choir is accompanied by a prerecorded track of electronic and percussive sounds). This would be the first growlers’ choir in the world.

In May 2019, LE CHŒUR DE GROWLERS made its stage debut with a SENÉCAL composition entitled “The Dayking,” based on a poem by FORTNER ANDERSON, who recites it: it is a breathtaking piece masterfully conducted by its composer (there’s a high-quality video of the performance online). The Victoriaville concert will also include two brand-new works.

On the Web
Le Chœur de Growlers (Facebook)

STUDENT PRICE FOR MIDNIGHT CONCERTS
($5 off the regular ticket price / individual ticket)
At the door only
Student card and ID card required

493 FIMAV37 Web 2 2650x550 FR web
493 FIMAV37 Web 2 768x768 FR web

LE CHŒUR DE GROWLERS

 Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

growlers webQUÉBEC, ÉTATS-UNIS

SAMEDI 22 MAI    
COLISÉE A
19 H 30 - 32 $  

Une collaboration
ckrl


Pierre-Luc Senécal : direction, ordinateur, composition
Fortner Anderson : voix, texte

Chœur de 14 Growlers :
Mikaïl Standjofski-Figols, Pascal Germain-Berardi, Corinne Cardinal, Roxana Bouchard, Maxime Daigneault, Samuel Arseneau-Roy, Patrick Goyette, Estelle Martinez, Maude Théberge, Yves Godbout, Jeffrey MacDermott, Laurent Bellemare, Marie-Claude Fleury, Philippe Langelier

Imaginez : une chorale expérimentale composée uniquement de chanteurs-hurleurs issus du milieu du métal.

C’est l’idée qu’a eue PIERRE-LUC SENÉCAL en 2016. Compositeur pour la danse, le théâtre et l’écran, électroacousticien et grand amateur de musique métal, il est aussi membre de la chorale Joker qui s’est produite au FIMAV en 2019.

Le chant métal, qu’il soit guttural, caverneux ou criard, requiert des techniques et un talent bien particuliers. SENÉCAL a recruté quatorze de ces chanteurs dans la région de Montréal, les a formés et a composé pour eux des musiques mixtes, c’est-à-dire qu’une bande sonore (bourdons, percussions) accompagne l’ensemble vocal. Ce serait le tout premier ensemble du genre au monde.

En mai 2019, le CHŒUR DE GROWLERS a présenté une première composition de SENÉCAL sur scène, « The Dayking », sur un poème de (et lu par) FORTNER ANDERSON; une œuvre époustouflante, dirigée de main de maître par son compositeur (on trouve facilement une vidéo de qualité de cette prestation sur le web). Le programme du concert à Victoriaville incluera aussi « Hate.Machine » et une nouvelle pièce.

Sur le Web
fortneranderson.com