FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 EN 72dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 EN 72dpi.1

XAVIER GARCIA / LIONEL MARCHETTI

Back to schedule | Tickets

GARCIA MARCHETTI credit ina GRM

FRANCE
NORTH AMERICAN PREMIERE

SUNDAY MAY 19
COLISÉE B
5 PM - $22


Xavier Garcia : électroniques, ordinateur
Lionel Marchetti : magnétophone

This duo features two French electroacousticians with complementary approaches and immersive sound worlds. Games of perceptions, abstract constructions with shards of concrete elements, back-and-forth interactions that demultiply the narratives.

After working at the GRM (Groupe de Recherches Musicales) in Paris, XAVIER GARCIA settled in Lyon where he is an active member of ARFI (Association à la Recherche d’un Folklore Imaginaire), a collective that presents numerous artistic interventions. Both an improviser and a composer, he favours samplers and computers. His extensive discography is split among several projects and groups.

LIONEL MARCHETTI prefers analogue tools: Revox, cassettes, objects and microphones manipulated by hand. He embodies the transition between old-school electroacoustics and the younger generation that commits itself as much on stage than in the studio. His sense of aural narrative makes him essential in the world of “cinema for the ear”. He is also a poet and an essayist; his book on Michel Chion’s music remains a reference.

They released two albums as a duo. The latest one, impeccable, is Machine Lyrique (Signature/Radio France, 2018). This is, for both, their first appearance at FIMAV.

On the Web

Xavier Garcia
Lionel Marchetti (Bandcamp)

FIMAV35 Web 2650x550 FR 300dpi.1
FIMAV35 Web 768x768 FR 72dpi.1

XAVIER GARCIA / LIONEL MARCHETTI

 Retour à la grille horaire | Billetterie

GARCIA MARCHETTI credit ina GRM

FRANCE
PREMIÈRE NORD-AMÉRICAINE

DIMANCHE 19 MAI
COLISÉE B
17 H - 22 $


Xavier Garcia : électroniques, ordinateur
Lionel Marchetti : magnétophone

Ce duo réunit deux électroacousticiens français aux approches complémentaires et à l’univers sonore immersif. Jeux de perceptions, constructions abstraites avec des bribes d’éléments concrets, chassé-croisé d’interactions qui démultiplient les narrations.

XAVIER GARCIA, après avoir travaillé au Groupe de Recherches Musicales (GRM) à Paris, s’est établi à Lyon où il est membre de l’Association à la Recherche d’un Folklore Imaginaire (ARFI), un collectif qui présente de nombreuses interventions artistiques. Improvisateur et compositeur, il favorise l’échantillonneur et l’ordinateur. Sa prolifique discographie se décline en multiples projets et formations.

LIONEL MARCHETTI préfère les outils analogiques : Revox, cassettes, manipulations d’objets et de micros. Il incarne le croisement entre la « vieille garde » d’électroacousticiens et la jeune génération qui se commet autant sur la scène qu’en studio. Son sens du récit sonore en fait un essentiel dans l’univers du « cinéma pour l’oreille ». Il est aussi poète et essayiste; son ouvrage sur la musique de Michel Chion demeure un incontournable.

Ce duo a deux albums à son actif. Le plus récent, impeccable, s’intitule Machine Lyrique (Signature/Radio France, 2018). Il s’agit, pour les deux artistes, d’une première visite au FIMAV.

Sur le Web
Xavier Garcia
Lionel Marchetti (Bandcamp)